Novak motor ruined?

Reply

Old 08-06-2010, 12:54 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (211)
 
Neu_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,012
Trader Rating: 211 (100%+)
Default Novak motor ruined?

I bought a Slash 4x4 here with a Novak 5.5 HV motor. I soldered it up to a GTB also bought from the same person and put it in my Slash. At about mid RPM range it vibrates REALLY bad and makes an awful noise. I know the motor is shot but any idea what is wrong? I've never had this happen before.

Thanks.
Neu_Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 01:04 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 396
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

That's novak for you
Colts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 01:28 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (124)
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,052
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

Kinda sounds lke the rotor came apart. seen it happen. Take it apart and see.
vr6cj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 01:46 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NV
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

a bad bearing is also a good possibility
scarletboa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 01:55 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
KniteWulfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Korea
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Bad bearing, or bent/ damaged rotor are the most likely causes. Pull it apart and take a look. Could even be something like a loose washer in the can. I've seen that happen.
KniteWulfe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 02:09 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
LunchboX3904's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Shoreline, WA
Posts: 927
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Perhaps its not shimmed properly?
LunchboX3904 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 02:12 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 396
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Or it just could be Novak for ya
Colts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 02:17 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
KniteWulfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Korea
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Usually Novak motors are decent, it's the ESC's I don't like. It has to have a cause, vibration and noise is 90% of the time a mechanical issue.
KniteWulfe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 06:47 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Colts View Post
Or it just could be Novak for ya
Come on guy...

This member is asking for help and you say "that's novak for ya"
not once, but twice. I'm sure we all appreciate your insight on the subject.

Anyway, I think most people have great experiences with Novak motors and I would guess a bad bearing since it doesn't vibrate through the lower RPMs as well. That would sound like a bent rotor.

Good luck.
richvarner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 07:06 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by richvarner View Post
Come on guy...

This member is asking for help and you say "that's novak for ya"
not once, but twice. I'm sure we all appreciate your insight on the subject.


Good luck.


thats colts for ya
john stu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 07:22 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
racer53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TEXAS[best state around]
Posts: 1,587
Default

When you say you soldered a 5.5 hv motor to a gtb are you talking about the 550 size motor or a 540 5.5 motor cause the gtb can only take the 540s you have to go with another esc to get 550 capability.
racer53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:45 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (211)
 
Neu_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,012
Trader Rating: 211 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the help guys. Well most of you at least.

I have never ran a Novak motor in anything and since the guy is now being a jerk I guess I'm stuck. And with the Mods wonderful new feedback policy I won't be leaving a neg so that sucks.

I haven't taken it apart yet but will. I'm hoping it's just a bearing but we'll see.
Neu_Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:45 AM
  #13  
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Originally Posted by racer53 View Post
When you say you soldered a 5.5 hv motor to a gtb are you talking about the 550 size motor or a 540 5.5 motor cause the gtb can only take the 540s you have to go with another esc to get 550 capability.
Our GTBs (Havoc Pros) are fine with the HV 5.5s in 4x4 SCTs; we do not advise these in most 1:8 racing.

Apparently, these electronics were purchased used. Did the GTB or motor ever run properly for you?

Disassemble the motor and examine the rotor and bearings to see if they are damaged.
NovakTwo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:46 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (211)
 
Neu_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,012
Trader Rating: 211 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
Our GTBs (Havoc Pros) are fine with the HV 5.5s in 4x4 SCTs; we do not advise these in most 1:8 racing.

Apparently, these electronics were purchased used. Did the GTB or motor ever run properly for you?

Disassemble the motor and examine the rotor and bearings to see if they are damaged.
Yes, they were bought used. The motor/ESC were only wired up to test functionality. I was going to run a MM Pro or HV speedo for the motor but have it in another vehicle. I always test things as soon as I buy them.

Good to know the GTB will work in a SC though on a 550 can.
Neu_Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 07:25 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (154)
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,631
Trader Rating: 154 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer53 View Post
When you say you soldered a 5.5 hv motor to a gtb are you talking about the 550 size motor or a 540 5.5 motor cause the gtb can only take the 540s you have to go with another esc to get 550 capability.
GTB runs HV motors fine on 2S. Ran my HV4.5 in my Slash 4X4 today for 17 minutes straight in 85 degree weather. Motor was 135F, ESC was 110F. That's with a wimpy fan on the ESC since the original high air flow Novak fan broke.
ta_man is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service