Wiki Posts
Search

Understanding Electric RC

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2010, 11:07 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Understanding Electric RC

I'm new to Electric RC Cars. I'm wanting to get into all forms of 1/10 scale electric. Before I do anything though I wanted to ask all the nice people of RCTech a few questions. Is there a site that explains RC Motors/ESC/Batterys and what it all means? I'm confused as to what class takes what Motor and ESC and what is a good battery to run with them. I'm looking to first buy a SCT and work my way up. Also does the charger make a huge difference or ?? Thank you all for your time.

-- I'm looking at the mamba max stuff but i'm wanting to run stock truck but be able to easily and cost effectively jump up to mod.
Old 07-05-2010, 12:48 AM
Tech Apprentice

The HPI Blitz ESE is what im looking to put an ESC/Charger/Batterys in. Just confused on what is best for stock class.
Old 07-05-2010, 12:56 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Depends on the rules at your local track. Most run 13.5 and/or 17.5 for stock class. For brand I run the LRP SXX Competition and X12 motor - which I chose after a huge amount of research and conversations with team drivers. Novaks are also good. Tekin is fast but a lot of people don't like the feel of Tekin for off road use. It seems more popular for onroad.

My biggest surprise was how huge the improvement was when I upgraded my servo. I went with the Futaba BLS451 and it blew me away. You can spend half that and still see a huge difference over the RTR servos.

For batts you can't go wrong with the Thunder Power 40C/4200mah. I have 3 of them. Plenty of power.
Old 07-05-2010, 01:16 AM
Tech Apprentice

the 40C Means what? Is there a site to explain mAH and Discharge and all that good stuff? and If i go brushless (Which I will) how do i know what is ROAR Legal?? Sorry if i'm getting repetitive. Just a little overwhelmed at the difference from nitro to electric.