Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Trying to save a lipo? >

Trying to save a lipo?

Trying to save a lipo?

Reply

Old 05-11-2010, 02:44 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default Trying to save a lipo?

So I have a pack that has 1 low voltage cell.

Cell 1: 1.06v
Cell 2 - 4: ~3.7v

I heard that if you charger at like .5a on nimh setting you can possibly try to recover the pack.

I put the pack on nimh setting and it was at 11.xx volt, and i watched it go up to 12.04volts in about 4mins. and pulled it...

Tried to charger it a lipo and it says low voltage again...

I know a 4s max voltage is around 14.8v, so should i leave it on nimh setting its get a little higher than 12v? say maybe 13.5v?

Thanks guys...
agarabaghi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:52 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (71)
 
klaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,330
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

A 4S nominal voltage is 14.8V. Max voltage is 16.8 (4.2V/cell). I would charge it on NiMH a bit longer but be darn sure you are watching things like a hawk. If you have a cell overcharge, it can get out of hand pretty quick (FIRE).
klaymon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:55 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

blah i honestly meant 4.2x4 = 16.8 not 14.8 ha....

Ok How much longer are we talking, or at least around what voltage would you say call it quits...
agarabaghi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:58 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I dont know much about lipos or electricty...

But looking at it like this...

Assuming i can pump the same voltage into each cell, in order to wake up the low voltage cell, it would need 2 more volts?

If each other cell got 2 more volts, that would sent them way past 4.2v?
agarabaghi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 03:33 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Haven't ever used one, but I hear there are chargers that can charge through the balance lead and allow you to specifically charge one of the cells. You may need to find someone with one of these, maybe your hobby shop.

ben
armourbl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:30 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I'm going thru the same thing on some of my HK batteries that I just rec'd.
Brought them up to voltage with Nimh setting at 1.0A and I watch it as it gets up the fairly quickly. On a 4S, I would think you could let it get up to 14V-15V and then charge it up as a lipo.

Mine wont let me charge with the balance lead on the Nimh setting but I found that just connecting them will give the battery a slow balance and thats what has actually saved 2 of them so far. If you have that option, that what I recommend if you cant get the one bad cell up to the proper voltage. I did this after charging and discharging several times.

Letting the charger (Triton 2EQ) do this took a few hours but it saved me some headaches for sure.
Yosh70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:38 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I havea triton EQ so i think i can,...

in lipo mode with the balancer plugged in, it freaks out, im gonna run it on nimh for a while to about 14-15v, then try the slow balance...
agarabaghi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:42 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I have found that my GT Power charger (10.0a/200w) does a better job of balancing than my other charger (5.0a/50w) -- sorry, can't remember the name of it.

The older charger will get the cells in balance and seems to accept them being 3 one-hundredths apart -- ie 4.17 and 4.20. The GT Power charger will take much longer and get the cells to within 1 one-hundredth apart -- ie 4.20 and 4.21.

This leads me to believe that some chargers simply do a better job of truly balancing than others. Probably something to do with the processor, chipset and programming quality.

When they are partially out of balance, the balance charge takes a lot longer to complete, but I suppose it is worth it in the long run.

ben
armourbl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:47 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by agarabaghi View Post
I havea triton EQ so i think i can,...

in lipo mode with the balancer plugged in, it freaks out, im gonna run it on nimh for a while to about 14-15v, then try the slow balance...
I'm not sure if yours has it but on mine, it has a data readout screen.....one portion shows all the individual cells as they are charging/discharging/balancing. This way you can see how the bad cell is doing and whether or not it looks like its going to come back up.
Yosh70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:50 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I can access that screen when the low voltage error pops, but i have not tried to see it while charging. Do you know the button sequence to change the view while charging?
agarabaghi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:58 PM
  #11  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (61)
 
tmail55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TN Mountains!!
Posts: 3,295
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

try lipo charge set at .1 amp

Don't try to balance it, balancer won't work below 3 volt, just charge it for 15-30 minutes. Check the cell volts and if it's above 3.0 then balance it like normal.

Had a cell at 2.63 in a 2 cell pack that I was able to bring back with the above action.

IF I can do this with a Poli-Max B6 from Hong Kong (ebay) you should be able to do this with almost any lipo charger that will charge at .1 amp per cell
tmail55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:59 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

so leave the balancer unhooked...

that would be the same as the nimh setting now?
agarabaghi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 05:10 PM
  #13  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (61)
 
tmail55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TN Mountains!!
Posts: 3,295
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by agarabaghi View Post
I can access that screen when the low voltage error pops, but i have not tried to see it while charging. Do you know the button sequence to change the view while charging?
Most chargers built in China have a LCD display like the one shown on the Youtube vid!

http://www.hobbypartz.com/thac6smbachw.html
tmail55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 05:15 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
YDBD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by agarabaghi View Post
so leave the balancer unhooked...

that would be the same as the nimh setting now?
no...Lipos' charge constant current first then constant voltage...nimh charge by voltage and current at the same time and end at "delta peak"
YDBD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 05:45 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

ok so try to charge at 1amp on lipo setting with no balance for a bit
and watch it...
wish me luck!
agarabaghi is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service