R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 03-23-2002, 08:04 AM   #1
Tech Regular

Default ? on 1/8 buggies

? on 1/8 buggies
i am thinking of getting a 1/8 scale buggy and i have no clue of what is good or just ok. but i am looking for the best all around kit. i have done some looking and i am woundering on these. ofna hyper 7 pro, mbx-4 xr , or mp.7.5 or should i wait and get the new ofna hyper 9.5 ??? like i said i am just getting into the offroad nitro. but i have a RB Concept C4
engine and the 1peice pipe 086. to go with what i get though.. thanks for your help.

forgot to add: i will be running on various tracks from choppy to groomed and packed tracks ...
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 07:15 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Let me give you the downsides to all the buggies that you listed.

The Ofna needs new front knuckles right off the bat, and they are not cheap.

The Mugen will strip diffs if not closely maintained.

The Kyosho doesn't give you much bang for the buck, and parts aren't cheap either.

The only car I don't know much about is the 9.5.

Of all of these cars, I personally feel that the Mugen is the best buy. It is well built, and you can replace the diff gears with Thunder Tiger parts if you don't want to do all the maintenance.

I feel that the Kyosho is the best pure racing car available, but it is really pricy to get the Kanai version, and hopping up the regular version is expensive.

I don't have anything positive to say about Ofna vehicles(I used to drive them, and I hated them), so maybe someone else can help you out there.
Matthew Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2002, 11:57 AM   #3
Tech Rookie

Cool

carpet_killa