Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Updating the RC10B3 to BL, LiPo

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2010, 10:10 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Updating the RC10B3 to BL, LiPo

New to the forum so a little history about myself and the car. I used to be an avid RC hobbyist since about 95' on (RC planes and buggies). My first car was a Traxxas TCP Buggy (same as the TRX-3 but with extra parts). After a few years of bashing I upgraded to the RC10B3 Team. I set it up with a JR XR2 Radio, Novak Duster II, Speed Gem Diamond, Trinity 2000mah NiCad, and hopped it up with blue titanium, alloy, and carbon bits. Unfortunately there wasn't many tracks near me and all my friends sold their cars so I lost interest shortly after. I then got more into RC planes and built up a Kadet Trainer and P51 and flew them for several years until I got busy with college and crappy jobs. Fast forward about 9 years and now I have a good job, house, wife, and I'm ready to resurrect some of my old hobbies (RC, biking, fishing, camping, and backpacking to name a few). Found out there is a really nice track (JRP) about 15 minutes from the house too!

After digging though my old closet at my parents house I found my B3 (+ the TCP!) and my tool box with all the accessories. I got the car out and charged up the old NiCads on my Novak Rhino Peak charger and to my surprised they held a charge. Ran for about 8-10 minutes which isn't too far off from what it ran back in the day. After reading a some info on this forum and others I found that everyone is now running BL motors, LiPo packs (300 gm and 5000 mAh!!). I don't plan on getting serious into racing, but would like to the car to have the potential to do some sport class races and such just for fun.