Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated's All-New V2 Shocks >

Team Associated's All-New V2 Shocks

Team Associated's All-New V2 Shocks

Old 04-05-2010, 06:18 PM
  #16  
Tech Master
iTrader: (89)
 
trerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,817
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ???E-Racer View Post
Wow I never expected this. I hope the new factory team SC10 has them.
That would be killer awesome!

That IS the new FT SC10
trerc is offline  
Old 04-05-2010, 07:45 PM
  #17  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (33)
 
FOURWHEELGURU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vegas
Posts: 285
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default shocks

Wonder if there is a pre-order list? Going to check....
FOURWHEELGURU is offline  
Old 04-05-2010, 10:27 PM
  #18  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Here's another shot of the shock I found:

Attached Thumbnails Team Associated's All-New V2 Shocks-dsc0612.jpg  
Mr.Maim is offline  
Old 04-05-2010, 11:39 PM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
z50king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upland, Cal Poly
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

it looks to me like there is more thread on the rear shocks and less thread on the front. does it look like this to anyone else, or is it just me?

i asked this in the t4 thread, too
z50king is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 12:45 AM
  #20  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (49)
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.Maim View Post
Here's another shot of the shock I found:

Nice find...guys, do the eyelets/pivot ball/shock shaft look the same? We can probably just buy the bodies if all the other components are compatible.
Armaan is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 02:29 AM
  #21  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Bugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,084
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Couldn't they have just made the cap part of the body and put a bleeder screw hole in it?
Bugle is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 04:14 AM
  #22  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 55
Default

Any part number ?
Bastos is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 06:48 AM
  #23  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Mack_Mechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cole Camp,Missouri
Posts: 227
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bugle View Post
Couldn't they have just made the cap part of the body and put a bleeder screw hole in it?
Then how would you get the shaft and piston out.......
Mack_Mechanic is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 06:55 AM
  #24  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Bugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,084
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yeah they still could've made it so the piston could come out the bottom like everyone else does.
So really this is just a complicated way to replace the little white clip which when installed properly never caused any problems, I don't see why there's such a fuss over this new design, it won't function any better than the old ones. The o-rings are still the same part?
Bugle is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 06:57 AM
  #25  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (85)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,810
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

The two things that the old shocks needed to be better were better guide bushing fit and piston fit. There was too much room for the shaft to move around. If they're using the same pieces in these then all they've improved is the ease at which these can be rebuilt. I suppose that's still an improvment if rebuilds continue to be as frequent.
Davidka is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 07:59 AM
  #26  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

tight tolerances only achieve more striction from the seals swelling...


The way Ae makes their shock fit works for better performance ...


Take apart the other brands, dump the oil & observe how tight the seals are griping the shock shaft ...

No room , just a stuck shock shaft...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 08:42 AM
  #27  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (85)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,810
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

You can keep telling yourself that but they're changing "the perfect shock" in response to pressure from their competitors.

Slop is never better for performance.
Davidka is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 08:51 AM
  #28  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,651
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Sweet, hope these will work on the B44. I was looking at buying new shock bodies soon anyway.
pickle311 is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 08:52 AM
  #29  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bastos View Post
Any part number ?


I talked to AE yesterday and they have no part numbers yet on anything
from the all new Factory Team SC truck... So if AE themselves have no
part numbers yet,no one will.. They told me nothing will be avalible parts
or trucks till June sometime or later, so part numbers will be useless till
the trucks and parts get into the U.S. from China and or other parts of
the world where their made...
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 08:59 AM
  #30  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,741
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Well, June is fine with me on the new SC10.
I was waiting like a whole year for one of those.
A couple months wait is so they can fill exisitng orders with the new stuff.
Factory waiting time...

I know about 10 people at my track that wants the new sc10 truck.
Myself included! Another hot item coming out from AE.
I lucked out and got a B44 before they sold out of them when they
first came out. Still have the car too....
I updated my B44 recently with the new-arms so the pin doesnt puch through. Been like that for a month now, still have not broke them.
The bulkheads are cheap too, like 3 bucks or something like that.
I put them on the car as well and feels new again.

I hope this new SC10 is durable because the T4 was fragile in some areas.
I hope it's priced right as well. Like $250 seems reasonable.

Last edited by ???E-Racer; 04-06-2010 at 09:14 AM.
???E-Racer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.