Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
will a better servo really matter in 1/8? >

will a better servo really matter in 1/8?

will a better servo really matter in 1/8?

Reply

Old 04-02-2010, 06:20 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
mike881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 557
Default will a better servo really matter in 1/8?

I just recently bought a hitec servo, it was $55 and I dont remember the exact number but it is something like a hitec 5645. For $119 my LHS sells one in the 7000's. What will I notice if I ended up returning this and purchasing that one (I have driven the same exact 5645 one before)?
mike881 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:22 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (112)
 
MotoGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 3,728
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Really depends a lot on your driving style. A faster and stronger servo just controls the car SOOOO much smoother than a slower/weaker servo.

I used to run a JR590 for steering in my Truggy when I first started and thought they were all equal. Now I run a JR9100T and it's a HUUUUGE difference in turning and control.
MotoGod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:25 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
mike881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 557
Default

what does torque mean for a servo?
mike881 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:58 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tacoma, wa
Posts: 52
Default

A 5645 hitec is fine for a buggy it has 164 oz torque @ 6v. Most pro divers use servos in the 200 oz range not necessary to go to 300-400 oz servos. Monster servos are fine for monster trucks which have big wheels or maybe even a crawler of the Super class. Buggies have much smaller wheels and tires not necessary for huge torque servos IMO. If speed of the servo is important to you check the specs for transit time, some high torque servos actually have a slower transit time.
rinferno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 07:00 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (112)
 
MotoGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 3,728
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Easier to overcome any forces acting on the front end while driving. Also allows the servo to turn the wheels and dig em in while maintaining the turn.....torque means a lot while steering ;-) Speed is also good...but a good mix of the 2 is what I prefer.

the 150 - 200 oz/in range is good for a buggy. For my Truggy...the more the merrier due to the bigger wheels.
MotoGod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 07:01 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
R-E-A-P-E-R-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,892
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

A good servo is important if you want to finish the race....

I think its better to buy one servo at $100-$120

Than 3-4 $50 ones.

HiTec 7955 will hold up to 1/8 abuse.... Spent the money and be done with it
R-E-A-P-E-R- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 08:12 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
mike881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 557
Default

Originally Posted by R-E-A-P-E-R- View Post
A good servo is important if you want to finish the race....

I think its better to buy one servo at $100-$120

Than 3-4 $50 ones.

HiTec 7955 will hold up to 1/8 abuse.... Spent the money and be done with it
done deal. just purchased the 7955
mike881 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 08:15 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 113
Default

I bought the 7955 and couldn't be happier. The car always does what I tell it and returns to center. The titanium gears seem to be pretty strong. I have stripped horns but not a blemish on the servo. My fault by the way the horn screw was loose. I never had success with cheaper servos. If I was to go the cheaper rout I would try the turnigy high voltage servo. If they are as good as my batteries for the price they are worth a look. Hobbyking.com sells them.
fazznick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 08:21 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
R-E-A-P-E-R-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,892
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Youll be happy with that. Aluminum servo horns are worth their weight in gold as well.

Just make sure you set up your end points right on your radio and it will last a really long time.
R-E-A-P-E-R- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 09:14 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,040
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

great servo along with great customer service if you ever have a problem just send it back to Hitec and most time they only charge shipping:

also make sure to accurately set your epa's that 7955 will tear stuff up if incorrectly set
NitroLuver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:26 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
mike881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 557
Default

Originally Posted by R-E-A-P-E-R- View Post
Youll be happy with that. Aluminum servo horns are worth their weight in gold as well.

Just make sure you set up your end points right on your radio and it will last a really long time.
what's the proper way to set them?
mike881 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:37 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,040
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mike881 View Post
what's the proper way to set them?
Check list for me when installing any servo

1 make sure controller is set at zero
2 install servo horn so that wheels are straight
3 turn wheel to left or right starting with my epa all the way up(well whatever that is,most radios have it at 100% per side)with body off(make sure to do it for left and right though)
4 look at the wheel in full lock back the epa setting down on your controller until the wheel comes in from full lock and from that I generally go back about 2-5% depending
5 Double check and make sure that the servo is at full lock without stress

For me my epa is something like 70%L and 72%R anything more and it's wearing out my steering servo and do the same for throttle if you get plenty of stopping at 50% don't have it set at 100%
NitroLuver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:52 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
R-E-A-P-E-R-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,892
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What he said
R-E-A-P-E-R- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:01 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
mike881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 557
Default

So on my spektrum dx3s is EPA going to be my travel? It starts at 100% so when I turn it right for example, do I want to increase the % and see if the wheel keeps moving right, and when it stops just move it back a few % on the radio?
mike881 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:19 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,169
Default

On the DX3S its travel yes.

What i do is turn full and listen if the servo is loud i back off.

if its silent its usually not turning far enough yet, so then you increase your travel.

i run the Hitec HS-7950TH, its the only servo to me that has proven itself worthy for 8th truggy.
UK.hardcore is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service