Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
losi speed t...help? >

losi speed t...help?

losi speed t...help?

Old 03-11-2010, 09:48 PM
Tech Apprentice

Questions?? losi speed t...help?

so i am buying a speed t in the next week or so and im new to the electric side of RC what upgrades should i get for it? also is there anything i should look for on it and get extra parts for?....also can it hold its own off road and if not what can i do to make it a little better
Old 03-11-2010, 10:13 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

If your going to drive it on a track get a new set of tires. Check at your local track to see what tires hook up.
Old 03-11-2010, 10:28 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

Well, from what I understand, they have a nice motor, crap esc.

The HPI E-Firestorm is a better basher, stronger and more support for it.
The downside of the E-FS is that it is now only available in the Flux version, which comes with a bad motor for the wrong application.
The Speed T/DT isn't really a weak truck, durability/strength wise, but it isnt the strongest.

I have a DT with a velineon 3500 geared for about 60kph, I have broken a few parts, but they certainly didnt break on their own... landing awkwardly from about 1.5-2m high on one wheel can break an A-Arm, so will running into a star picket.

The main part I break is the front A-Arms, although since I have put the EA3 arms on, I havn't broken one.

So, I would suggest changing the front arms to EA3, DT gear diff and fill it with some really sticky stuff.

Rod ends, I have managed to break a few.
Keep a packet of E clips laying around, I have lost quite a few.

Other than that, I can't really think of any other parts that 'will' break.
The camber links are really soft though, I have had mine near looking like a banana and I just straightened them out again.