R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2004, 05:30 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9
Default LRP - Quantum Competition 2 - Offroad

Hi,

What are your opinions/experiences with the new LRP Quantum Competion 2 for use in off-road racing... especially in low traction tracks. Is the quality better than the old Quantums i.e. do they fall apart in the first run like the old model.

Cheers,
Sam.
nqslammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 05:23 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've run my quantam 2 for two weekends now. It runs great my question for anyone who can answer it is this. The speedo does not have a brake pot, you set drag brake to a certain number on the speedo. I've got mine maxed at setting number 5 and still had to put 4 ticks into the throttle trim to increase the drag brake enough for the track conditions. I don't like doing that to the throttle trim cuz it messes up your power curve. Has anyone else overcome this in some way?

racer-oZ
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 07:49 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Doughty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 318
Default

Mine runs like a dream, I have had mine since the worlds where I ran it for the first time and loved it ever since.

I don't use drag brakes, I don't like how they work, I just brake if needed manually.
you could try changing the brake strenght and the drag brake setting it might help it.

I just use all the default settings, model2, brake2, drag0. I have not even tried model4 with the 'engine mapping'
Doughty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 07:57 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

racer-oz - The only radio adjustment that has an effect on the throttle curve is exponential. Trims are used to "center" the servo (throttle trim came from using servos for throttle) and affects nothing else on the application of throttle.

Throttle trim is the easiest and fastest way to add or take away drag brake.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 07:41 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

aaron, I know it doesn't affect the throttle like exponential does, but what it does do is increase the dead band so that you have to pull the throttle farther before it starts putting power to the motor. With a lrp 7.1 and the old quantaum the drag pot was plenty sensitive enough to never have to put any ticks in the throttle trim. I'm gonna play with it some more, but I may go back to the 7.1.

racer-oZ
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 07:47 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Try a different number in the "punch mode" or map is seems to effect breaking as well. What I mean is try stock mode and see if it gives you a more powerful break you are looking for. I use a Q2 in a XXX-S and use drag brakes in stock mode over touring mode and it makes a difference.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 12:20 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

If you have a good radio it might have a feature that could eliminate the time when you apply throttle but just lessen the brake. I think its called servo advance or something like that, I know my 3pk has it. It automatically advances a servo to a certain point when any movement is transmitted to it, to over come slop in linkages. I cant see why it wouldnt work on a ESC.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 12:30 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

http://www.futaba-rc.com/manuals/3pk-manual.pdf
page 26
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 07:54 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

ae racer, I'll look at my manual, I have an m8. Thanks for the ideas guys.

racer-oZ
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP QUANTUM COMPETITION rcaussie Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-02-2007 03:28 AM
LRP Quantum or Quantum 2 competition Core Creations R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-03-2005 11:56 AM
LRP Quantum Competition 2 John Q R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-27-2005 10:08 PM
Quantum Competition 2 Omar Electric On-Road 3 10-19-2003 06:09 PM
GT7 or Quantum Competition? rcpilot Electric On-Road 71 12-23-2002 03:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net