Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Short Course brushed motors? >

Short Course brushed motors?

Short Course brushed motors?

Old 02-28-2010, 01:55 AM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? Short Course brushed motors?

I'm new to the electric "racing" scene, but not the rc scene by any means. I'm soon going to be buying the traxxas slash(Best mix for me), and I was wondering what my best choices would be for a brushed motor ranging from 12 turn to 19 turn for my local intermediate short course class would be? I was thinking 15-17turns would be ideal, but things, even with the brushed motors, have changed so much in a few years that I don't know where to start anymore. I can't afford to go brushless yet so this is my only option. It's not a very long track, so a good mix of torque and speed would be ideal, Basically I just want to find the most powerful brushed motor for these conditions.
any info or input would be great, thanks in advance.
-Brock
Old 02-28-2010, 02:05 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)

best bet for torque and speed would probably be a high quality 19 turn motor

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...Motor-19T-Spec

or the team checkpoint ones

gear it right and have fun
Old 02-28-2010, 08:01 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I don't really understand the 12t and 19t, is 19t stronger than the stock 12t
Old 02-28-2010, 11:04 AM
Tech Rookie

Arrow

By most specs, a 19t would have more torque than a 12t, a 12t is capable of spinning at a higher RPM, but has less windings, making the power to get there less. A 19t has more windings giving it the ability to spool up faster(thus more torque.) Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe this is how it goes. The more the windings, the slower max RPM, but more torque. The fewer the windings, the lower the torque and the more the max RPM.
Old 02-28-2010, 11:52 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)