Flipping Rusty

Old 01-16-2010, 09:02 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Heavy-D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default Flipping Rusty

My i broke the rear A arms the other day and replaced them with RPM a arms. Now my rusty is flipping over very easily on turns. Are the stock A arms longer then the RPM ones? Could the fact that i have RPM rear arms and stock front arms be causing that? any insight to this would be great. or any other ideas on how to sort this out.
Heavy-D is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 09:06 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
crazyjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: middle georgia
Posts: 625
Default

Is it possible you got the nitro rustler rear arms? I know the nitro has narrower arms, it's possible you got the wrong ones, or possibly misbagged
crazyjr is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 09:08 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Heavy-D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default

Originally Posted by crazyjr View Post
Is it possible you got the nitro rustler rear arms? I know the nitro has narrower arms, it's possible you got the wrong ones, or possibly misbagged
i dont think so. i bought the arms from a local hobby shop. the guy there is really good. he knows his stuff, i think he would notice even if something was bagged wrong. and the stock rear arms and the RPM arms seemed to be the same size, i put them against each other when i was switching them out.
Heavy-D is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 09:38 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Could be arms flexing more - I know the T4 RPM front arms I've used are far more flexible than the stock plastic or carbon arms.
jmcvicker is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 09:58 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
snowboard094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sac Town CA
Posts: 1,973
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Heavy-D View Post
My i broke the rear A arms the other day and replaced them with RPM a arms. Now my rusty is flipping over very easily on turns. Are the stock A arms longer then the RPM ones? Could the fact that i have RPM rear arms and stock front arms be causing that? any insight to this would be great. or any other ideas on how to sort this out.
I am sure that is is something wrong with the way you put the suspension back together. Are the shock positions on the arms the same? Is the camber/toe etc set the same? RPM arms will not flex as much as the stock plastic. It will slightly tighten up you handling. You shouldn't notice is at all just bashing.
snowboard094 is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 11:04 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
sLaSh It UPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,872
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snowboard094 View Post
I am sure that is is something wrong with the way you put the suspension back together. Are the shock positions on the arms the same? Is the camber/toe etc set the same? RPM arms will not flex as much as the stock plastic. It will slightly tighten up you handling. You shouldn't notice is at all just bashing.
rpm is great stuff i think that your LHS probably gave you the wrong a arms or like snow said you should check your camber/toe and shock positions
sLaSh It UPP is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 12:34 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

As long as the shocks are mounted in the center hole on the RPM a-arm, then that is the correct position as far as stock goes.

Only thing else that could have possibly be done is tires were swapped side to side? Are they both equal wear?

Maybe grasping here but there's really nothing else that can change.
Yosh70 is offline  
Old 01-16-2010, 05:20 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Heavy-D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default

I figured out what it was after posting this and then going back to check the car -_- I put the shocks in a different whole because i wanted to try something changing the center of gravity of the car and forgetting that i went and did that. haha All fixed now. Thanks tho.
Heavy-D is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.