Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Durango DEX210 Thread >

Durango DEX210 Thread

Like Tree78Likes

Durango DEX210 Thread

Reply

Old 02-12-2012, 09:01 PM
  #4336  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
Jmuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 5,061
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by idrummerboy13 View Post
this car is really tempting and I may just fall off the a.e slope. Maybe i just had a bad day bc usually my stuff feels real good but this car is really solid looking.

Jmuck ik u switched from b4.1 to this, what are the pros and cons? part breaks? shocks? diffs?

I would like a car that is easier to push harder.
I'm loving this car. The diff is solid and smooth but does not like ceramics as the main diff balls, carbide is the answer. Shocks are butter smooth! I have broken a rear a arm and a front shock tower. Parts are actually less expensive than the B4, but parts availability is spotty. This can be pushed harder and has steering out the ying-yang without breaking loose. It rotates on a dime. Cons are the turnbuckles. Some people have been popping ballcups, but this can be solved by using AE TC5 ballstuds and RPM longshank ball ends. The Ackerman plate is flimsy, recommend the FTW or Tresrey CF piece. The 210 is ass heavy but can be balanced by running a full-sized lipo all the way forward. Pulling a transmission can be a process and definitely not quick like a B4. But the tranny is smooth and bullet proof. Try to see if you can run someone's locally to try. But be careful, you might like it.
Jmuck69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:08 PM
  #4337  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
idrummerboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Deer Park
Posts: 2,021
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jmuck69 View Post
I'm loving this car. The diff is solid and smooth but does not like ceramics as the main diff balls, carbide is the answer. Shocks are butter smooth! I have broken a rear a arm and a front shock tower. Parts are actually less expensive than the B4, but parts availability is spotty. This can be pushed harder and has steering out the ying-yang without breaking loose. It rotates on a dime. Cons are the turnbuckles. Some people have been popping ballcups, but this can be solved by using AE TC5 ballstuds and RPM longshank ball ends. The Ackerman plate is flimsy, recommend the FTW or Tresrey CF piece. The 210 is ass heavy but can be balanced by running a full-sized lipo all the way forward. Pulling a transmission can be a process and definitely not quick like a B4. But the tranny is smooth and bullet proof. Try to see if you can run someone's locally to try. But be careful, you might like it.
I love working on my stuff, and thanks i actually have a few guys who run these and they do very well. Will talk to them. B4.1 seems to get funny on the bumps even with chassis and bb springs, still need to try ghea pistons, plus i got about 12 pairs of rear tires with the pin in the back that are new....will talk to u guys on the thread soon
idrummerboy13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:36 PM
  #4338  
Tech Addict
 
Mopar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santee, Ca
Posts: 668
Default

Originally Posted by idrummerboy13 View Post
I love working on my stuff, and thanks i actually have a few guys who run these and they do very well. Will talk to them. B4.1 seems to get funny on the bumps even with chassis and bb springs, still need to try ghea pistons, plus i got about 12 pairs of rear tires with the pin in the back that are new....will talk to u guys on the thread soon
You can use the 410 rear axle washer in place of the hex adapter to use all those B4.1 rear wheels, so don't let stop you.
Mopar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:42 PM
  #4339  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,846
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Autocratic View Post
Wheel hex pin...that's a first.

I lost one of my pins, so I used a spare XXX-CR hex pin I had. Same size, just a little shorter. I put a dab of CA glue on each pin so they stay in.

I had a good 17.5 race this weekend.

New Revtech worked amazing. Geared 69/35 seemed to be the best, and stock timing. Took 2nd in the A-Main, but should have had first. I messed up the setup to our double/double jumps on one lap and had to roll all four. I was only 1.1 secconds behind the leader at the end who qualified behind me in 5th and was slower in Top 5 and Top 10 average laps by over 500ths.

Completely different setup from last week seemed to work out very well. Had tons of grip and tons of steering. Didn't make a single chassis adjustment all day. The car just wanted to go where I told it. Very happy with the end result.

Have a few things I'll be testing on it next time I'm able to practice. Same pistons front and rear but tapered. Should help make the car even more smooth in the bumps. 12.5 HT rotor for the Revtech and same gearing/timing. With a little more punch I should be able to clear a small single/double whoop section that most people have to roll 3xsingle.
With that HT rotor you'll be able to go up at least two teeth on your pinion and still have more torque. You may need to find a "skinny" pinion though as the 37 I tried rubbed on both the motor screws (buttonheads) and the gear cover. I was able to move the gear out to clear the motor screws but had to run without the gear cover. That Revtech with the HT rotor is a beast though!
Jonny5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:19 AM
  #4340  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know where I can get some slipper pads? Everyone seems to be out of stock
silvalis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:30 AM
  #4341  
Moderator
iTrader: (470)
 
Posvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Carolina by way of SoCal!
Posts: 4,785
Trader Rating: 470 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
Anyone know where I can get some slipper pads? Everyone seems to be out of stock
I used Associated Slipper Pads and just trimmed them slightly to fit.
Posvar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:45 AM
  #4342  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (28)
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,953
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
Anyone know where I can get some slipper pads? Everyone seems to be out of stock

I am biased but these are the best pads on the market! They do not wear,glaze and you can actually tune for slip and they dont "let go".
no trimming, they are a direct fit.
http://rcshox.com/shoxshop/catalog/i...hp?cPath=23_31
MantisWorx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:35 AM
  #4343  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,880
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MantisWorx View Post
I am biased but these are the best pads on the market! They do not wear,glaze and you can actually tune for slip and they dont "let go".
no trimming, they are a direct fit.
http://rcshox.com/shoxshop/catalog/i...hp?cPath=23_31
+1,000,000
symmetricon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:23 AM
  #4344  
Tech Regular
 
triplesix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 48.137499,11.575494
Posts: 445
Default

i'm running the yellow-ish associated pads. perfect for me...
triplesix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:20 PM
  #4345  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,880
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I have a setup question. If i use any brakes, my rear end comes out very easily. How do I tune my dex to get rid of this??

Last edited by symmetricon; 02-13-2012 at 12:38 PM.
symmetricon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:21 PM
  #4346  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
MikeFriery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

brakes while cornering?

move your battery forward
MikeFriery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:31 PM
  #4347  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,880
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeFriery View Post
brakes while cornering?

move your battery forward
No, there is a high speed 180, and a stepup, that needs some braking before entering. I have to be extremely easy on the breaks while going straight into the turn. I am running a shorty pack in the middle.
symmetricon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:53 PM
  #4348  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
MikeFriery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Its hard to say if its your radio settings or the car if its losing grip under braking in a straight line.. i try to dial out brake on my EPA when my car does that. Does the rear end dump real bad while you are braking?
MikeFriery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:57 PM
  #4349  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,880
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeFriery View Post
Its hard to say if its your radio settings or the car if its losing grip under braking in a straight line.. i try to dial out brake on my EPA when my car does that. Does the rear end dump real bad while you are braking?
Well, I like the brakes to be strong, so I can get better mid air correction. Yes, the rear end dumps pretty badly with even a little braking.
symmetricon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:01 PM
  #4350  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,846
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by symmetricon View Post
Well, I like the brakes to be strong, so I can get better mid air correction. Yes, the rear end dumps pretty badly with even a little braking.
More anti squat can help with this, but I would think your brakes are just too strong and need to be turned down. This of course is assuming that all else is working properly.
Jonny5 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service