R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree44Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2011, 12:58 PM   #1786
Tech Fanatic
 
rcman182006's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pleasantville, OH
Posts: 779
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rcman182006
Default

By the time I get mine from Speedtech hopefully parts will be in stock
__________________
-=-Charles Kilbarger-=-
Serpent SRX2 MM - D4 17.5 - Hobbywing Justock
AE RC10 Team Car - RevTech 17.5 - Hobbywing Justock
#NoChuck2015
rcman182006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:21 PM   #1787
Tech Master
 
goBezerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: KRCORCC, VIC, AUS
Posts: 1,637
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to goBezerk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
can anyone confirm the quick release shock mounts from the original dex410 will fit the 210?
No probs Al, I fitted these from day one as I had them lying around in the pit box and had never used them for anything else. Although the longer ones are recommended all round, I had a set of fronts and rears and had no issues. You will need to work out what to use in the shock top though, I used some Kyosho bushes and opened them up to 3.5mm ID...works awesome

The diff thing is a no brainer, small ID/OD against the screw head, this keeps the OD from rubbing the outdrive and the ID keeps screw shaft central. The large ID/OD washer against the circlip, the large OD to help prevent it pulling through the circlip, to hold the assembly more central to prevent the other washer rubbing the outdrive and the larger ID to prevent the screw shaft rubbing it. The only question should be, why isn't it in the assembly manual
__________________
► Paul Sims - KRCORCC - BRCCC - TFTR
► R/C racin', 1 percent car, 99 percent driver
► BEZERK RC on Facebook, PayPal accepted
► PROLINE - TEAM AE - GFORCE - R/C Race Supplies
goBezerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:47 PM   #1788
Tech Elite
 
mjealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,193
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys another diff question. I have it all assenbled and in the gearbox and installed it in the car. I put the hubs and the driveshafts in the car. On the side of the diff where the nut is inside of the outdrive, it seems like the dogbone doesn't go in very far and would rub up against it when the suspension compresses? How do I know how far it should be in there or if there is something wrong? The screw is threaded down in it pretty good and is pretty tight. Anybody else notice this or once I have everything installed and the camberlinks on it it will be fine? Please Help!!!!!
__________________
Kyosho Inferno MP9 TKI 3 - OS Speed .19 & .21 - KO Propo

WinterBlast 2012 - Knoxville, TN - Chilhowee Park
10/27, 11/10, 12/8, 01/05, 02/02, 03/09*
mjealey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:49 PM   #1789
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Take the diff apart again. You don't have it assembled correctly.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:59 PM   #1790
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjealey View Post
Hey guys another diff question. I have it all assenbled and in the gearbox and installed it in the car. I put the hubs and the driveshafts in the car. On the side of the diff where the nut is inside of the outdrive, it seems like the dogbone doesn't go in very far and would rub up against it when the suspension compresses? How do I know how far it should be in there or if there is something wrong? The screw is threaded down in it pretty good and is pretty tight. Anybody else notice this or once I have everything installed and the camberlinks on it it will be fine? Please Help!!!!!
It just means your diff isn't broken in yet. Break the diff in completely, , and you will see that the sping will compress FAR more than it is now, and there will be room in the outdrive.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:44 PM   #1791
Tech Fanatic
 
jurquhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I've got a general question about what motor size people are using. I was thinking of getting the Tekin RS pro with 6.5T motor combo. I was thinking that if the motor has too much juice I could just turn it down with the current limiter. What do you guys think?
__________________
John Urquhart
Sponsors include Caster Racing USA, Radiopost, and Trick-parts.com
Caster F8T e-Truggy with Tekin RX8 & 2000 motor Radiopost radio & servos
jurquhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:51 PM   #1792
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

6.5 is a handful for most in 2wd buggy . You can make a 10.5 run just as fast lap times and be more consistant .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:52 PM   #1793
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurquhart View Post
I've got a general question about what motor size people are using. I was thinking of getting the Tekin RS pro with 6.5T motor combo. I was thinking that if the motor has too much juice I could just turn it down with the current limiter. What do you guys think?
IMO that's too much motor for 2wd buggy. I would go with an 8.5 and if you run on a really big track you can add a bit of boost to it.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:56 PM   #1794
Tech Fanatic
 
jurquhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the feedback now I can order my motor combo and sit and wait and wait for my kit to come.

What servo's are you guys running, I was thinking the Savox 1258TG.
__________________
John Urquhart
Sponsors include Caster Racing USA, Radiopost, and Trick-parts.com
Caster F8T e-Truggy with Tekin RX8 & 2000 motor Radiopost radio & servos
jurquhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:03 PM   #1795
Tech Master
 
ABBOTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: St Charles ,MO
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

10.5 is going to be smooth and plenty fast for most and with the boost you can add if needed you cant go wrong. It will also make for better run times and be easier on batteries. Laptimes go down with practice NOT power!
__________________
SmacTrac / STL Dirtburners / Blaze RC
ABBOTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:06 PM   #1796
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurquhart View Post
thanks for the feedback now I can order my motor combo and sit and wait and wait for my kit to come.

What servo's are you guys running, I was thinking the Savox 1258TG.
That's the same servo I run in my DEX210, DEX410, and DESC410R If you're running a Spektrum system you'll need a capacitor on your receiver though, the Tekin BEC isn't quite powerful enough for the servo
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 06:35 PM   #1797
Tech Elite
 
Bman's 3XNT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ct.
Posts: 2,993
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Howard View Post
That's the same servo I run in my DEX210, DEX410, and DESC410R If you're running a Spektrum system you'll need a capacitor on your receiver though, the Tekin BEC isn't quite powerful enough for the servo
Where do I get one? I run a Savox and RS Pro, the thing is acting wierd. The car stops and stutters, doesn't go anywhere then goes back to normal. Tried different motors, sensor wires, batteries. Still same effect. It has to be the servo as I ran this same setup, minus the servo in another vehicle. Do tell....Thanks
__________________
Team Durango DEX410 w/3 Diffs ;) The original
Xray Xb2 CE

www.rchr.biz------www.Wolcotthobby.com
Bman's 3XNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 06:41 PM   #1798
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

You mean that the servo is drawing more than the 3 amps the Tekin RS is rated for. Swap in a KO or JR servo and this problem is gone.

Add a receiver cap. Spektrum and other companies make them.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 06:49 PM   #1799
Tech Master
 
fullsyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 1,582
Trader Rating: 107 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman's 3XNT View Post
Where do I get one? I run a Savox and RS Pro, the thing is acting wierd. The car stops and stutters, doesn't go anywhere then goes back to normal. Tried different motors, sensor wires, batteries. Still same effect. It has to be the servo as I ran this same setup, minus the servo in another vehicle. Do tell....Thanks
Spektrum capacitor
fullsyzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 06:52 PM   #1800
Tech Elite
 
Bman's 3XNT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ct.
Posts: 2,993
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
You mean that the servo is drawing more than the 3 amps the Tekin RS is rated for. Swap in a KO or JR servo and this problem is gone.

Add a receiver cap. Spektrum and other companies make them.
What is the cap on the ESC for? Also would this also happen on the RX8? Thanks...
__________________
Team Durango DEX410 w/3 Diffs ;) The original
Xray Xb2 CE

www.rchr.biz------www.Wolcotthobby.com
Bman's 3XNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
St Ives RC Club B4Bandit Australian Racing 16584 12-06-2017 03:53 AM
EPMTs check in here. (a subsidiary of TNT) overtki11 Singapore R/C Racers 55470 05-08-2017 12:57 AM
Team Durango DEX410 ASH93A Australian Racing 925 04-08-2013 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
czrlaker
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net