B44 lipo setup??

Old 12-17-2009, 08:22 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (23)
 
drive2survive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: south seattle
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default B44 lipo setup??

read somewhere on here where you can convert the saddle pack so you can use lipos...any info on that??
drive2survive is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:25 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (49)
 
nelson6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

they make lipo saddle packs.
nelson6500 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,688
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

reedy 5100 #710 use the lipo brace and your money
toyota 2jz is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:46 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,649
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I have that Reedy 5100 pack and its been great , always balances out even and barely gets warm during a run with a 5.5T motor .
BashemSmashem is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:47 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,688
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

yes indeed mine never get warm at all couldnt ask for a better battery
toyota 2jz is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:04 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,589
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Unless you are at a ROAR race or a race track that requires you to charge in lipo sack then you don't need the lipo specfic tray. Just use servo tape to tape the battery to the chassis and the top brace.

Here's a hobby city saddle pack:

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9967
kcobra is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:53 PM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (515)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 5,090
Trader Rating: 515 (100%+)
Default

I have 2 of those batteries that I'm going to try out at the track tomorrow. I also have a MaxAmps 6000 and Reedy 4200 saddle packs. The Reedy packs are very good quality. I will post up tomorrow about the FlightMax 5700's.
QDRHRSE is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 12:46 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
The Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PNW rainforest
Posts: 536
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

You can use lipos, you need the Lipo Cradle #9785.

I am using the 4900mAh 25C SMC packs and they work great on my B44 with a 10.5.

I know that the Hobby City packs work good, but a buddy got a few and all of them went bad with only 5-10 charges on them. They all broke internally.

Nick
The Fox is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 01:17 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Bugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,084
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kcobra
Unless you are at a ROAR race or a race track that requires you to charge in lipo sack then you don't need the lipo specfic tray. Just use servo tape to tape the battery to the chassis and the top brace.

Here's a hobby city saddle pack:

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9967
Yeah I wish they would make those in 2S2P to get the height and weight down..
Bugle is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 02:23 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Holy cow, 3P. No wonder they are 5700maH. It's three 1900mAH in parallel stacked in series per side... The 2S is when you hook up the two sides in series?

You're right, they should just use two in parallel, but using higher capacity cells. Two 2500mAH in parallel to make 5000mAH would be sufficient...
tom_chang79 is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:57 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Chimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock,IL
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

You really don't need the LiPo Cradle. You can just tape the batteries to the battery straps. Remove the plastic battery trays, you won't need those for a LiPo. Depending on which LiPo you choose you may have to put spacers under the battery strap posts and use longer screws according to the amount of spacers used.
Chimer is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 09:12 AM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (23)
 
drive2survive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: south seattle
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chimer
You really don't need the LiPo Cradle. You can just tape the batteries to the battery straps. Remove the plastic battery trays, you won't need those for a LiPo. Depending on which LiPo you choose you may have to put spacers under the battery strap posts and use longer screws according to the amount of spacers used.
maybe you can post a pic of that setup thanx
drive2survive is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 09:44 PM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (515)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 5,090
Trader Rating: 515 (100%+)
Default

I love the 5700mah FlightMax packs from HobbyKing. My B44 went for at least 40 minutes today if not longer with a 9T motor before they went dead. I have 2 B44's and one uses a different sized lipo which is lighter and has weights all over it (the B44). With the 5700 packs I do not need any weights and the car feels very balanced. They are way better than the soft MaxAmps pack that I have. The only downside is that you need to notch the upper chassis a bit to clear the inside battery wires.
QDRHRSE is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.