Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Confused about Battery and Motor Specs >

Confused about Battery and Motor Specs

Confused about Battery and Motor Specs

Old 12-12-2009, 09:24 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Confused about Battery and Motor Specs

So suffice it to say, I'm new to RC, trying to build a 1/8 buggy. I don't want some high level competition speed, just something I can run at a local track, with medium level competition and just have fun with.

My confusion comes in when trying to figure out what motor I need and what battery I need.

On the motor, I see a lot of people use a 2650kV motor, and some people use a 2200kV motor. I read a lot about how 2200kV are usually for truggies, as they have more torque for the heavier vehicles. But I also hear that a lot of people use the ESC to dial down the torque and use them in buggies. Given that I am generally new to all of this, am I better off just sticking with a 2650kV motor and not worry about tweaking it so much?

On batteries, I know I want somewhere in the 3S-4S range, and from what I can tell, 4S means a 4 cell battery? Is there something inherently better about a 4 cell battery vs a 3 cell battery (4S vs 3S) if they both have the same capacity? On capacity, I think I want to start with a 5000mAh battery. It seems that 2S doesn't last very long, but some people run two 2S batteries in parrallel and that acts about the same as a 4S battery? Also, on the discharge rate, I see batteries range from 20C to 50C, does this mean they discharge more power/run out faster/send more energy to the motor? So a higher C rate on the battery means they give more power to the motor/make it run hotter/run the battery out faster?

If I'm just trying to get a decent setup I can learn on and maybe do some low-medium level racing (at a local track), am I going to be ok with something like a 2650kV motor and a 3C battery? And if so, is 5000mAh ok? And what should the discharge rate be? 20C? 30C? 40C? 50C?