R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2004, 12:31 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default associated gt

Has anybody started a thread on the rc10gt?
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 12:55 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default

hello has anybody started one yet
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 08:50 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

Maybe you just have.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 10:28 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default

sweet I guess we should talk about set ups and maybe show pictures of our gt's.
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 11:02 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

Sounds like the plan. I'll have to take some pics when I get a chance. I'll post them later on this arvo.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 07:37 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default

I will try to post some pictuers to when I figure out how to work my new camera.

Has anybody put t4 parts on their gt yet.
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 11:34 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hamilton,ohio
Posts: 357
Default gt

I just bought a "team built" gt last night. what are the first "factory team " hop ups i should get?
thanks
sedanaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 08:54 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default

My gt runs awesome with all stock parts (factory team) of course.

I would buy springs and maybe replacement parts I have not broken anything on it at all.

Not real sure what the difference is between the two, but if you brake something maybe replace that first.
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 11:04 AM   #9
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,527
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

If you are shooting for durability, try and get RPM replacement parts. They last forever. I wouldn't buy aluminum arms or stuff like that since they are heavier and if you bend one of them, it can be a pain to know for sure what is wrong with your vehicle. Better to just break a part and replace it.

one thing to consider is when they will come out with a new GT that uses T4 parts. I have seen online people have converted there GTs to use T4 suspension setup. They say it handles much better than the current GT.
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 04:19 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default

Ya t4 parts like the arms will widen the front and make it more stable I am currently putting t4 parts on my gt.
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 04:41 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

Do they fit straight on. Might have to try a set on mine. A wider front track also gives better steering. Shouldn't push as much. Post some pics when you are done.

I haven't had a chance to take any pics of mine yet but I'll get some today.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 04:47 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default

ok sounds good. I got the idea from a freind who did it to his and his truck handles awesome.
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 09:01 PM   #13
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcracer37
ok sounds good. I got the idea from a freind who did it to his and his truck handles awesome.
To widen the front you use the stock front a arms and then use the B4 caster blocks, steering blocks, and the in line T4 front axles. You will need to drill the front caster blocks to accept the hinge pin running thru the A arm. You will use B4 pins to run thru the axle.

This will widen your fron to almost right on the ROAR limit. In the rear use B4 CVD axle and axle spacer with your stock MIP cvd bone and this will widen the rear 1/16th of an inch on each side.

You can also just use the Losi XXX front axle in the stock GT steering block and taht widens the front end alot as well. Need to mill the axle down just a very little bit to make it fit into the GT steering hub. Using this will widen the truck but with a loss in steering. The B4 setup I desribed above makes the truck wider without the loss in steering.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 05:07 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

Making the gt wider in front only makes it push worse. The b4 axles in the rear works well but the front end is fine leave it and go fast. The gt is great in very close to stock form. Use only stock asc. parts except for rpm ball cups. Do not use rpm suspension components they make the truck handle crapy, they were made for the tub style chassis not the newer ft chassis and some of the angles are off to the newer parts.
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 12:54 AM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
ScoopGrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Default

hey now im in business... ive been dring like crap and now i can blame my rpm arms for that.... will i notice the difference if i change the rpm arms and put stock ones on????
ScoopGrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net