R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2004, 11:20 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Yes, you will. The newer arms have differnt geometry than the older arms that the RPM arms were based on. Plus RPM plastic is very flexy and springy. Not good for suspension component.
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 01:08 PM   #17
Tech Regular
 
Steve Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I USED THE T4 INLINE AXLE WITH THE STOCK GT STEERING/CASTER BLOCK ASSEMBLY. I HAD TO REAM OUT THE T4 INLINE AXLES TO .125, THIS MAKES THE FRONT END APPROX. .060 WIDER PER SIDE. THIS ALONG WITH THE B4/T4 AXLES IN THE REAR WILL HELP STABILITY, BUT MAKING THE FRONT MUCH WIDER THAN THIS, WITHOUT MAKING THE REAR MATCH WOULD NOT HELP PERFORMANCE MUCH.
Steve Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 09:42 PM   #18
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Steve Nelson
I USED THE T4 INLINE AXLE WITH THE STOCK GT STEERING/CASTER BLOCK ASSEMBLY. I HAD TO REAM OUT THE T4 INLINE AXLES TO .125, THIS MAKES THE FRONT END APPROX. .060 WIDER PER SIDE. THIS ALONG WITH THE B4/T4 AXLES IN THE REAR WILL HELP STABILITY, BUT MAKING THE FRONT MUCH WIDER THAN THIS, WITHOUT MAKING THE REAR MATCH WOULD NOT HELP PERFORMANCE MUCH.
So how did you find that it went.

Also can you post some pics.

Also I know I'm asking alot sorry. Can you maybe put a required parts list on here. I have to order from the states. Don't want to miss out on any thing. Bummer when your order arrives and your missing one part.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 02:30 AM   #19
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

Has anyone ever had a problem with the idler gear. It must of locked up some how and the topshaft ripped all the teeth of it. Just curious. I'll post some pics when I get a chance. And it has to happen with a minute to go and your 1/2 a lap in front.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 05:26 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

You have "the" problem. I would sugest replacing the tranny case and all the bearings and the top shaft. Use all asc parts. This is the only way to stop this problem cause once you have it, it doesnt go away until you replace the tranny case. Parts are cheap and it will be bullet proof again.
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 03:08 AM   #21
Tech Initiate
 
ScoopGrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Default

hey sounds like a stupid question but does it matter what side the arms go cause on the rpm it has L and R and the b4 have the same so.........
ScoopGrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 10:02 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default

yes it does.
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:16 PM   #23
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default RC10GT Gearing Alternatives

I'm coming from an electric background where gearing is everything. Has anyone fooled around with different gearing combos on the GT or is the factory ratio pretty much ok?

Seems that the nitros have so much HP that gearing really doesn't matter that much, or does it?

thanks
bill
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:27 PM   #24
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LEXINGTON,SC
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ybakoff
Has anyone ever had a problem with the idler gear. It must of locked up some how and the topshaft ripped all the teeth of it. Just curious. I'll post some pics when I get a chance. And it has to happen with a minute to go and your 1/2 a lap in front.
If you use the gpm aluminum case you will never have the problem again.
DYNO94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 03:00 AM   #25
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 558
Default GT plus

I just got the GT Plus. I got some cvds some diff bearings actual associated springs and some thirty seven and a half and that thing is wicked! i am still waiting for my robinson racing idler gear and i need to bolt that rear pivot block. Associateds are dialed.
I know this one guy who put the whole front end of a T4 on his GT.
notch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 07:48 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DYNO94
If you use the gpm aluminum case you will never have the problem again.

Where can you get it from. That will ship to Australia.

Thanks Ybakoff
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 07:53 AM   #27
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default Re: RC10GT Gearing Alternatives

Quote:
Originally posted by Ducati-Rider
I'm coming from an electric background where gearing is everything. Has anyone fooled around with different gearing combos on the GT or is the factory ratio pretty much ok?

Seems that the nitros have so much HP that gearing really doesn't matter that much, or does it?

thanks
bill
I went one bigger on the clutch bell, and it was a real dog out of the corners. I wouldn't mind trying one smaller but I havent have time to play. On the 3 tracks around here the gearing I guess would be quite close. I reckon Assoc have got it sorted from the box.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 06:15 AM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LEXINGTON,SC
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ybakoff
Where can you get it from. That will ship to Australia.

Thanks Ybakoff
Try Hobby Etc.com, the p# is rgt1306 in stock.
DYNO94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 08:22 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: washington state
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to rcracer37
Default picture of my factory team

Here is a picture of team gt with body off. I would take pick of body but waiting for new body to paint old one is bashed.
I just took it apart and cleaned and checked everything out for this season, still have to put wires where they belong.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscn0155.jpg (91.5 KB, 114 views)
rcracer37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2004, 01:40 AM   #30
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

How do you find the T4 wheels on your GT. Do they change the track at all. Wider etc. Or are they the same offset.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net