R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2004, 07:05 AM   #1
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,548
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default Running Capacitors on LRP Speed Controls

I am looking into running a capacitor on an LRP IPC style speed control like the V6, V7.1, or the SR . Is this possible and ok to do? I figure I can trim back alittle of the wire covering and then wire the capacitor to that.

Anyone done anything like this to other speed controls?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 12:30 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Giuseppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kamloops
Posts: 2,515
Send a message via MSN to Giuseppe
Default like motor caps?

Just wondering what exactly you're talking about.

Do you want to put them on the speed control toavoid having to mount them on every motor, or is there something special about putting them on the ESC?

Normally they are put on motors to help reduce interference with teh radio signals...helps stop glitching. May motors now adays come with premounted caps in the endbell ("solid mount"), and therefore avoids the tedious process of soldering them.

I personnally have never heard of sodlering capacitors to the speed control, only to the motor to help prevent radio interference. If someone else has a better idea about this, please go ahead and correct me.

As for whether it is safe to do on your IPC, if it is safe to do it on the others, than it shouldn't cause any problems with the IPC.

Hope that this helps.
__________________
Giuseppe
Team Associated/Reedy
Gripworks R/C
Interior R/C
TVRCRC WCICS Club Rep
Giuseppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 04:38 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

If you put a cap on the speed contoller it charges under braking and when you excellerate again it uses the charge in the cap to give faster excelleration. Like the Noval gt7 comes with a cap.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 05:28 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: south t-town wa
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to miniRMAC
Default

i had one on my 12th scale with a lrp ipc v6 and i soldered servo wirs to it and pluged it in my batt spot on my receiver
miniRMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 09:33 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,203
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

YOU SOLDER THE CAP TO SERVO WIRES THEN PLUGED INTO BAT SPOT ON REC IS THIS CORRECT? WHAT DID IT DO?
KEITH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 04:20 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: south t-town wa
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to miniRMAC
Default

yea wires off of an old servo soit was just the wires and then i pluged it in the bat spot on my receiver
miniRMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 09:43 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

I would be weary about doing this. I would talk to some one first. The whole idea of the cap is to charge up under brakes and gives a boost when you go again. If you put a cap on your Battery pos + neg it will charge up all the time. Have a look on some of the sites for the kit for the LRP Q2 I think there was a worlds kit that you could buy.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 01:34 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Running Capacitors on LRP Speed Controls

Guys;

When installing a power capacitor on any ESC:

The + (pos) goes to the Batt wire and the - (neg) goes to the Motor wire. (Novaks come with a plug)

If you connect both wires to the battery, then there will be no benefit from the capacitor.

The best type to use is Electrolytic, 10v, 4700uf.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 03:03 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
SpeedyTC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 99
Send a message via ICQ to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via AIM to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via MSN to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via Yahoo to SpeedyTC3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by miniRMAC
yea wires off of an old servo soit was just the wires and then i pluged it in the bat spot on my receiver
This would more than likely help if you're having a glitching problem and/or steering loss under acceleration by providing a little extra power to the receiver, however, the power capacitor being discussed here (I would imagine the cap we call the 'Garbage Can') is to help with acceleration as like posted above, the power capacitor will charge under braking conditions and provide extra power for acceleration when back on the throttle.

DO NOT USE SERVO WIRES FOR THIS! I fried a 12th scale in 2003 in Cleveland running mod doing this. The wires heated up when yanking down the straight that the insulation just melted and the pos/neg leads for the cap just bonded together.

Stick with 14 or 16 guage wires.
SpeedyTC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 04:52 PM   #10
Tee
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: the town of Oakland CA
Posts: 79
Default Pops, I will make you faster.

Pops, please double check that info you provide regarding the power capacitor attachment points. It does not match up with instructions provided by Novak, LRP, or..... Hheheh, Tekin.

When you say that there is no benefit in wiring it as Novak specifies, what "benefit" did YOU expect? I am under the impression that it's to keep the battery and speed control cooler, which provides more punch than a hot battery pack. Actually, I looked at Novak's web page, and they state the power cap is to "prevent damage".

I went ahead and modelled (ie, simple drawing) the "alternative" power cap attachment, and to my uneducated mind, it would make your motor more sluggish, because from a standing start (for instance) the cap is discharged and needs to take on a charge (4700 mfd's worth). Then, when you reduce or release throttle, the capacitor will try to discharge, but the point is to try to reduce the motor output, not power the motor with some excess power stored up (again, 4700 mfd's worth)... And if you actually dip into using the brake portion of the controller, then you're also trying to make that same cap dump that same energy (4700 mfd's worth) through the brake fets. Bottom line is, I think you should try the wiring layout Novak says to use.
Tee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 05:13 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

I run caps everywhere. I run Mtroniks Cirrus ESC's in my cars both with beer-keg sized capacitors attached. Then I've got two small caps plugged into my reciever to help power the servo. Running stock, its a must. The servo caps are optional, but for mod racing, you can really feel them working under heavy acceleration.
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP speed controls F/S F/T JEMCIV R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-24-2008 06:21 PM
2 LRP Q2 speed controls Ginsu R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-30-2007 11:39 AM
BEST SPEED CONTROLS Howlow Electric Off-Road 22 01-17-2007 08:23 AM
NIB Speed Controls speedybill R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-16-2006 07:45 PM
Speed Controls nitrous36 Electric On-Road 9 08-12-2004 01:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net