Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Time to make the switch? >

Time to make the switch?

Time to make the switch?

Old 10-17-2009, 01:19 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Time to make the switch?

Hello, after a good deal of consideration I am thinking about getting a 1/8 electric buggy to use for club racing. I have some experience with nitro and am quite fond of these cars, but after reading a number of threads here, I think the electric counterpart is definitively worth a try. I have done a considerable amount of reading regarding electric cars and their components, but the shear amount of information makes me very easily sidetracked. I am leaning towards the Hot Bodies Ve8 kit and the Tekin RX8/Redline T8 1/8th Scale Buggy Brushless ESC/Motor Combo (2050kV) and maybe the Thunder Power "Pro Race" 4S Li-Polymer Battery 40C (14.8V/5000mAh). I am still wondering what else do I need to complete the kit in terms of electronics? Do the kits come with gears or pinions? Do these components come recommended? Can anyone provide better or more reliable parts? Thanks in advance, the direct responses are very helpful.
Old 10-17-2009, 05:52 AM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by rememberthis View Post