Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
TURNIGY 5000 20C hardcase lipo >

TURNIGY 5000 20C hardcase lipo

TURNIGY 5000 20C hardcase lipo

Old 10-21-2009, 11:48 AM
  #121  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Monmouth Beach, NJ
Posts: 1,455
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Just got mine in! These things work great! Hobby City is my new battery and battery charger source!!
vstrok is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 09:11 AM
  #122  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sheboygan Falls, WI
Posts: 1,376
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vstrok View Post
Just got mine in! These things work great! Hobby City is my new battery and battery charger source!!
what charger did you buy?

i have been using my accucel6 for almost 2 years now with no problems, i guess for current battery tech there is nothing more that i would want, the thing will even charge sealed lead acid batterys for powr wheels and such.
interplanet is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 11:17 AM
  #123  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 702
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

wow.. this is annoying.. I ordered 3 pakcs of these and they all work freaking awesome.. so I go to order some more.. and WTF.. (-250) in stock???

there was like 300 in stock when i ordered these 3 weeks ago??? GOD DAMN IT..
devilchrist is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 12:46 PM
  #124  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: anywhere I can race 2wd dirt,and 1/12 onroad in MI.
Posts: 3,865
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by devilchrist View Post
wow.. this is annoying.. I ordered 3 pakcs of these and they all work freaking awesome.. so I go to order some more.. and WTF.. (-250) in stock???

there was like 300 in stock when i ordered these 3 weeks ago??? GOD DAMN IT..
yeah,they been out of stock for like 2.5 weeks.there was over 1200 in stock when I started this thread.
2wdMod is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 02:47 PM
  #125  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

These newer Zippy 30C 5200mAh hardcase's could be nice - but wire location may not work for all applications. Not bad for tying two together for 1/8 scale or any 1/10 that doesn't have a tight compartment.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._hardcase_pack
jmcvicker is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:43 PM
  #126  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (92)
 
Outtacontrol58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 2,145
Trader Rating: 92 (98%+)
Default

Just saw it today....are those going to be alot better because they are 30c? I wish the connectors would come out the top of the dang case instead of the awkward location now
Outtacontrol58 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 09:13 PM
  #127  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (20)
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,171
Trader Rating: 20 (95%+)
Default

I have one of the 30c packs coming as well. I noticed it is a 2s2p. Is their more chance of issues with 4cell 2s packs vs 2s1p packs?
slaytanic is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 09:37 PM
  #128  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 211
Default

With the amount of lipo sales from hobbycity, I can't even imagine how this is hurting overpriced US company lipo sales, and it's just going to get worse unless they stop ripping the shirts off your back.
segmentfault is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 10:11 PM
  #129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,179
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Man...
These are really really good deal.
How long does it take for hobbycity to restock usally?
Super Steve is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 11:08 PM
  #130  
CL
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (34)
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by slaytanic View Post
I have one of the 30c packs coming as well. I noticed it is a 2s2p. Is their more chance of issues with 4cell 2s packs vs 2s1p packs?
The avg. voltage is lower with the 2s2p pack than a 2s1p pack. To get 5200mah, 2x 2600mah cells are connected in parallel. The discharge curve for a 2600mah cell is lower than a 5000mah cell. So when 2x 2600mah cell are connected in parallel, the avg voltage is the same as 1 2600 mah cell. That is why those 5200 30C 2s2p packs are cheaper than the 5000mah 30C 2s1p pack. I want to get some more of those zippy 5000mah 30C 2s1p pack. Those packs are good, but they have been out of them for months. I saw some guy on ebay selling battery packs from Hobbycity for more than twice what it original cost.
CL is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 02:49 PM
  #131  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St.Pete, FL
Posts: 35
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LunchboX3904 View Post
is the middle balancer plug removable from the case or it is integrated into the pack? might not work in my xxx-t since the battery strap goes right down the middle.
Not sure what pack you are talking about, but I have the flightmax 4000/2s/25c hardcase in my T3 - similar setup with the battery strap down the middle of the pack. I just drilled a hole for the balancer plug. But I had to buy the harness seperate from the pack and could just as easily not plugged the balancer part of it into the pack. Hope this helps

EDIT: Just saw that somebody else already answered your question, and a LOT better than I did too lol. I didnt notice that the 5000 hardacse packs have the balancer plug built in.

Last edited by e123; 11-19-2009 at 03:51 PM.
e123 is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 06:12 PM
  #132  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey 1/8th guys.

Some nice 5800 mAh packs now. 2S thru 6S 5800mAh. Little longer than 5000.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...0mAh_4S1P_30C_
jmcvicker is offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 09:40 AM
  #133  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
ICBeloitRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Do the Turnigy hard case batteries have any problems with wire figment in 1/10 trucks? I'mm running a T4 with the FT thumbscrew battery strap and I've had some problems fitting lipos in before.
ICBeloitRacer is offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 10:09 AM
  #134  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ICBeloitRacer View Post
Do the Turnigy hard case batteries have any problems with wire figment in 1/10 trucks? I'mm running a T4 with the FT thumbscrew battery strap and I've had some problems fitting lipos in before.
Not sure but the Turnigy have the wires out the front - you could build up bumpers on left/right of the wire to keep it from kinking.
Do you mean this one? That should work with the stock strap.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...000-2-20HC.jpg

For the Zippy hard-case, you can do this:
Attached Thumbnails TURNIGY 5000 20C hardcase lipo-100_0697.jpg   TURNIGY 5000 20C hardcase lipo-100_0698.jpg  
jmcvicker is offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 10:40 AM
  #135  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
ICBeloitRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, I just wanted to make sure I wouldn't have to dremel my chassis to fit the battery. Shouldn't be any problems
ICBeloitRacer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.