Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Hyperion Eos0720i net charger >

Hyperion Eos0720i net charger

Hyperion Eos0720i net charger

Reply

Old 09-26-2009, 01:44 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 96
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Hyperion Eos0720i net charger

My question is how do I set up my Hyperion Eos0720i net charger to charge 5C on my lipo battery? The Lipo that I have is: Hyperion 5s/18.5 5500mAh.
Grimgore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 04:20 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

When your setting up your batteries profile, you will need to select Lipo, then 5s, 5500Mah, and then when it comes to charge rate see how high the charger lets you select on amperage, I dont have that one in particular, but did read the claim of 5C you mentioned. You will definately have to plug it into the balancer. My Dou2 will only let me charge a 5000Mah at 2C, or 10 amp max, which is fine with me. From everything I've read, going over 2C shortens the batteries life anyway. Just because the battery manufactures says a 5C rate is possible, doesn't mean its a good thing to do all the time.
hobbipro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 04:34 AM
  #3  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hobbipro View Post
When your setting up your batteries profile, you will need to select Lipo, then 5s, 5500Mah, and then when it comes to charge rate see how high the charger lets you select on amperage, I dont have that one in particular, but did read the claim of 5C you mentioned. You will definately have to plug it into the balancer. My Dou2 will only let me charge a 5000Mah at 2C, or 10 amp max, which is fine with me. From everything I've read, going over 2C shortens the batteries life anyway. Just because the battery manufactures says a 5C rate is possible, doesn't mean its a good thing to do all the time.
+1 and I believe the 720 has a max of 20amps so you're not going to get a full 5C on a 5500mah pack anyway. IMO the minimal time savings on anything over 2C isn't worth shortening the life of a quality lipo.

I'm not sure if all the 720's came with 5C charging firmware, I just don't know.
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 04:59 AM
  #4  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

+2 The 250w power limit will kick in before the amp limit. You can only do a little over 2C at full voltage, a little higher at the beginning of a discharged cycle.
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 07:42 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 76
Default

I am curious then how to set it up to charge 2C then? What would be the settings?
mOOgo_davo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 08:06 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
CBHVR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York PA
Posts: 1,151
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

2C on a 5000mah would be charging at 10amps

2C on the ops battery(5500mah) would be charging at 11amps

etc, etc
CBHVR6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 08:10 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Really there's no mystery involved with setting these chargers for 2C. You set up your cell type, cell count, Mah rating of the cell, then when it comes to charge current, set it for 2C thats it! For exmple my old ice charger will only allow you to set a 5000Mah pack at 5amps, or 1C charge rate. My Dou2 will let me set the same pack at 10amps as long as the balancer is plugged in. These hyperion chargers have the balance accessories built in, more chargers are coming out with the same features
hobbipro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 03:28 PM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

If this is like my 0610iNet, then you go to user setup. There is a setting for "lipo max C" and its 1, 2, 3 for 1C, 2C charge rates.

Then just set up as normal and after specifying number of cells and mah, it will apply the "lipo max c" that you selected in user setup.

Would guess the 0720i would do something similar to my 0610i.
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service