Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Just starting out >

Just starting out

Just starting out

Old 09-21-2009, 01:44 PM
Tech Regular

Default Just starting out

I am just getting into R/C and wondering best advice for starting out. If you were to start now how would you proceed? My planned use is for both racing and bashing.

What are advantages/disadvantages to buggies, trucks & SCT?

What kind of budget should I be looking at for an entry level type vehicle?

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-21-2009, 02:11 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)

You have to decide what you want to do before you can decide on the vehicle. Like if you want to race offroad track, go with a buggy or a truggy. If you want to do onroad, or if you want to bash or just want to do top speed.
Old 09-21-2009, 02:37 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)

You need to decide what class you want to race . Buggies are the hardest class to race and would suggest either truck or short course truck .
Old 09-21-2009, 02:52 PM
Tech Regular

I posted in "electric off-road" because that is the type of racing I want to get into. Am I correct in electric being an easier starting point than Nitro?

Are buggies more difficult to drive or are there typically better drivers in that class?

I want something that is durable and reasonably easy to maintain. My thought is to start with something easy to get my feet wet and then down the road begin to upgrade.

Thanks again.
Old 09-21-2009, 02:58 PM
Tech Champion

I tell everyone to start with electric as I`ve seen many newcomers get frustrated with nitro and quit the hobby . Buggies can be harder to drive as they are not as forgiving as a truck and IMO the buggy class is for experienced racers . As for which brand , I would go to your track as see what is popular and what the fast guys are running as parts will more available and the racers can help you better .
Old 09-21-2009, 03:13 PM
Tech Regular

Thanks Briguy.