Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
HPI Vorza Flux 1/8 E-Buggy Thread >

HPI Vorza Flux 1/8 E-Buggy Thread

Like Tree16Likes

HPI Vorza Flux 1/8 E-Buggy Thread

Old 02-03-2010, 11:05 AM
  #541  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Muge0124
malik is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 12:53 PM
  #542  
Tech Regular
 
HYDE16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 407
Default

Iím still a little fuzzy on what these shafts replace exactly.
From the parts explosion diagram in the Vorza manual it seems like they replace:

2 x 67415 Suspension Pin 4x71mm Silver (Front/Inner)
2 x 67417 Suspension Shaft (Rear/Inner)

What about the shorter shafts which hold the wheel hubs? Do those back out and are there shafts with nuts to replace them?

2 x 67416 Suspension Pin 3x43mm Silver (Front/Outer)
2 x 67418 Suspension Shaft (Rear/Outer)

Found them on AMainHobbies for $14.25 for 2:
Mugen Option Rear Lower Suspension Shaft w/Nuts (2) [MUGE0124]

HYDE16 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 01:07 PM
  #543  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I thought that the Vorza like the D8, D8T, and Ve8 all used captured pins. Why would you want to replace those with the Mugen pins?

I could understand doing that if the hinge pins use E-clips since most people don't know how to keep those on but to replace perfectly good captured pins, really?

I've raced Kyosho buggies for years with E-clips and never lost a hinge pin except for crash damage (bent). How do you manage to lose a captured one except if you forget to replace the capture screw or the arm breaks.
AreCee is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 05:19 PM
  #544  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
*BBB*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Hill, VA
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Could any of you guys give me a quick list of parts from the D8 that WONT fit the Vorza? Like the chasis, shock tower, knuckles etc. Im supposed to get one tom and want to stock up on some spare parts..

Thanks!
*BBB* is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 05:37 PM
  #545  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
danulmer18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sunny Coast QLD
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

the vorza hingepins arn't captured in the sence that they have nuts threaded onto the ends of the pins(like the mugen). They arn't e clips either. They slide in and are held in place with tiny screws and washers threaded into the a arm. This works ok for the inner ones as they are seated in alloy blocks but I threw an outer rear one the other day. It just pulled through the plastic of the arm. The mugen outer pins would prevent this. I will get some, I think they will be a good investment.
danulmer18 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 06:09 PM
  #546  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Default

danulmer18 is right. The inner hinge pins are not the problem. It's the outer pins. The outer shafts are captured by screws and the hinge pins are a little too short. On a good crash, force on the wheel and hub pull on the pin and it can pull out from the arm.
Fastenough is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 06:29 PM
  #547  
Tech Regular
 
HYDE16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 407
Default

So these work with the pins/shafts which hold the wheel hubs?

Mugen Option Rear Lower Suspension Shaft w/Nuts (2) [MUGE0124]

Please verify that 4 of these (2 sets) would replace:
2 x 67416 Suspension Pin 3x43mm Silver (Front/Outer)
2 x 67418 Suspension Shaft (Rear/Outer)
HYDE16 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:17 PM
  #548  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fastenough
danulmer18 is right. The inner hinge pins are not the problem. It's the outer pins. The outer shafts are captured by screws and the hinge pins are a little too short. On a good crash, force on the wheel and hub pull on the pin and it can pull out from the arm.
You're kidding, aren't you. If you crash that hard to "pull" the pin you have more damage than a loose pin. Honestly, this is how all the top line buggies and truggies are set up now, from Kyosho to Mugen to Xray to AE. They all use a similar captured pin method since so many people were crying about e-clips.

But hey, it's your buggy and you do have the right to do what you want to it.
AreCee is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:20 PM
  #549  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Hyde16

These will work too.

http://www.hotbodiesonline.com/piw.p...n&partNo=66800

They're in stock on HB's website and cheaper. These are what I got. Only one issue - They're a little long, I think they're for their old truggy and spaced to accept mud guards. I had to use a spacer before the nut to take some slack.

I used them to replace 67418 and 67416
Fastenough is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:26 PM
  #550  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Default

AreCee - Not true.

Check out Mugen's link. If you look at the magnified photos, Mugen uses a pin and nut like we're talking about
Fastenough is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:27 PM
  #551  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Sorry, here's the link

http://www.mugenracing.com/index_mbx6.html
Fastenough is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:36 PM
  #552  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Arecee

XRay uses a screw and nut too.

http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/new...079a58301d110b
Fastenough is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:42 PM
  #553  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fastenough
Arecee

XRay uses a screw and nut too.

http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/new...079a58301d110b
OK whatever!
AreCee is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 09:08 PM
  #554  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: long island ny
Posts: 85
Default

Thanks guys for the info.I looked at the mesh and it is too tight.Also quick question.When I got the Vorza I immediately took ou the radio receiver and converted to a 2.4 Fasst system minus servo which I'll get to next.I plugged in a battery and tested it out.Worked fine.I then noticed at work while I was reading the manual.it says you have to program the esc for the first time.I figured because It worked when I did the radio swap it was programmed.Is this correct.Also what would you say the best servo I can install is under 150.00.thanks guys in advance.


Brian.
bnangle is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 09:50 PM
  #555  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
danulmer18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sunny Coast QLD
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Arecee believe it or not it happened to me pretty easily with no other damage and from a small crash as far that crashes go. Definitly a good upgrade to go to the fully captured ones.
danulmer18 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.