Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
HPI Vorza Flux 1/8 E-Buggy Thread >

HPI Vorza Flux 1/8 E-Buggy Thread

Like Tree7Likes

HPI Vorza Flux 1/8 E-Buggy Thread

Old 07-13-2010, 02:07 PM
  #2131  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Kylesfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 242
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks the red body looks sick...so its the regular stock d8 body
?
Kylesfv is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 02:28 PM
  #2132  
Tech Regular
 
HYDE16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 407
Default

Correct, that was actually modified and tested by Travis at HPI.
HYDE16 is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 02:31 PM
  #2133  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by armourbl View Post
Kenneth,

Your English is quite good. Maybe better than some of the Americans who post in these forums...

Try HobbyKing.com They are based in China and ship everywhere as far as I know. Their batteries are very reasonably priced too. I've purchases some from them and had good luck. Order processing and shipping can be a bit slow, but I guess that is typical for international transactions.

I would suggest that you not get dual packs. Get single packs. Also I don't recommend running 6S, even for bashing. Sure the motor and buggy can handle 6S, but the added power will shorten the life of everything, and really the buggy is fast enough on 4S.

ben
Thank you for replying and for your advice! I see that Hobbyking have very good prices as you said! I am considering 4s, but I know i will want to test the limits of the machine sooner or later, so its a hard choice.

I was also thinking that maybe when you run a 4s you are more likely to run the battery to its limits than when running a 6s if driven the same way? Can strain on the battery (if there is such a thing) transfer to the rest of the electronics or shorten the life of the battery?

Is there any reason other than practical to get one 4s pack vs 2x 2s packs? Im thinking that if one battery fails you only have to replace one which is half as expensive as if the big one fails? (But then again you have double the chance...)
kennethx1 is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 05:40 PM
  #2134  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Kylesfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 242
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ima bash at a backyard track spot would 3s be good or do i need a 4s?
Kylesfv is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 06:35 PM
  #2135  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kennethx1 View Post
Hello!

Please excuse my English as I am Norwegian. I am new to this forum and have just ordered a HPI Vorza Flux. I have been looking for Lipos but its expensive and hard to find in Norway. Does anyone know a good place to buy lipos, that can ship internationally and have reasonable prizes? Also what brands should I stick to? It would be nice if that store also have spares and upgrades for the Vorza. I will not use the car for races so its my understanding that they dont need to be ROAR approved.
Looking for 2x 3s packs.

Thanks, Kenneth
Kenneth,

Welcome to the boards. I also use Hobbyking.com for my batteries. Their Turnigy brand stacks up well with the competition as a very good price. As already mentioned, their turn around can be slow, especially if what you order is out of stock but worth the wait as you'll be saving a ton of money vs other branks like MaxAmps.
jcbudny is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 06:37 PM
  #2136  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kylesfv View Post
ima bash at a backyard track spot would 3s be good or do i need a 4s?
I really like the Vorza on 4S, as a matter of fact with 48T spur and 17T pinion I could almost get a way with 5S on a larger track I bash at. Although 4S is often more than enough power to clear any triples I've come across thus far. Anything more and you are probably just asking for broken parts. The MMM system in the Vorza is rated for 4S-6S, so I'd try to stay in that range if you can.
jcbudny is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 07:42 PM
  #2137  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Kylesfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 242
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jcbudny View Post
I really like the Vorza on 4S, as a matter of fact with 48T spur and 17T pinion I could almost get a way with 5S on a larger track I bash at. Although 4S is often more than enough power to clear any triples I've come across thus far. Anything more and you are probably just asking for broken parts. The MMM system in the Vorza is rated for 4S-6S, so I'd try to stay in that range if you can.
but what about a 3s?
Kylesfv is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 08:38 PM
  #2138  
Tech Apprentice
 
horseteeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 74
Default

Originally Posted by Kylesfv View Post
but what about a 3s?
Run 2 3s for a total of 6s for retardo speed
Run 2 2s for a total of 4s or a single 4s for controllable speed at a track
I wouldn't run a single 3s, it would work but not ideal for the esc.
horseteeth is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:44 AM
  #2139  
Tech Adept
 
durgaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 159
Default conversion

hey guys im just wonder about the vorza the makers kinda based it off the HB d8 chasis and since the HB d8t uses the same chasis layout as the D8 could it be possible to make a VORZA -T using the rear arms dog bone etc from the d8t?
durgaman is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 11:49 AM
  #2140  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if there are any alloy front hubs available for the Vorza? Can't seem to find any.



hey guys im just wonder about the vorza the makers kinda based it off the HB d8 chasis and since the HB d8t uses the same chasis layout as the D8 could it be possible to make a VORZA -T using the rear arms dog bone etc from the d8t?
Im sure I saw someone do this on here a while back. Can't seem to find the thread now. I believe they used D8T arms/driveshafts/hubs etc although a
D8T chassis is longer so would cost alot doing it that way
Spudski is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 11:52 AM
  #2141  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Actually, I run a single 3S pack in mine when I'm running the 1/10th scale track. It still accelerates great, but just doesn't have the top speed that 4S or larger provides. I've seen no issues with the ESC doing this, and the motor runs way cooler.

Depending on the size of your back yard, I'd say a single 3S would get the job done fine.

The Vorza really isn't a great basher. Sure it is durable, but it rides too low to drive on anything other than ideal terrain.

ben
armourbl is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:12 PM
  #2142  
Tech Regular
 
HYDE16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 407
Default

Originally Posted by Spudski View Post
Does anyone know if there are any alloy front hubs available for the Vorza? Can't seem to find any.





Im sure I saw someone do this on here a while back. Can't seem to find the thread now. I believe they used D8T arms/driveshafts/hubs etc although a
D8T chassis is longer so would cost alot doing it that way
http://www.hpiracing.com/products/en/67215/
http://www.hpiracing.com/products/en/67216/
HYDE16 is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 06:22 PM
  #2143  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Posts: 79
Thumbs up HPI Vorza ceramic bearing kit

Yes we do have the HPI Vorza ceramic bearing kit. It is a complete kit and $89.99 with FREE shipping worldwide. Thanks!
acerracing is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 06:55 PM
  #2144  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (56)
 
kman16jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa,Fl.
Posts: 4,046
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default Sweet

So your saying we get them with the bearings.
kman16jr is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 09:10 PM
  #2145  
Tech Apprentice
 
horseteeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 74
Default

I could be wrong but...
Vorza esc needs 120amp, this is why hpi say use 4s 30c batts minimum. 4s x 30c= 120.
horseteeth is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.