Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Hotbodies Ve8 Thread >

Hotbodies Ve8 Thread

Hotbodies Ve8 Thread

Old 10-15-2009, 09:45 AM
  #751  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,595
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by malik
Guys I have a novice e-8th question. I have the MMM/2200 combo I want to go up to 5 or 6S now I know you ideally would want to go down in KV on the motor to do this but what would happen if I went up in cells and just geared it to the same speed as I would with my 4S pack? Would I get more runtime out of a smaller mah pack like you would switching to a smaller kv motor? I want to use the 2650 mah Turnigy 6S pack. I will use my 4s 5000 also I just want to use a pack that fits better then my 4S and that 6S fits perfect. I just bought the motor to if I would have thought about it earlier I would have got a lower KV motor instead.
Im not sure you would be able to gear for the same MPH with the 2200 and
6s. the closest you would be able to get would be a 19t on the 4cell and a 13on the 6s. I know when you run higher voltage you will have a heavier initinal punch. Weather you will see the benefit of the higher voltage with the higher kv motor I do not know. I can try it out with my 1400kv/1900kv setup when i get to run again.
micrors4guy is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:28 AM
  #752  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,855
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by malik
Guys I have a novice e-8th question. I have the MMM/2200 combo I want to go up to 5 or 6S now I know you ideally would want to go down in KV on the motor to do this but what would happen if I went up in cells and just geared it to the same speed as I would with my 4S pack? Would I get more runtime out of a smaller mah pack like you would switching to a smaller kv motor? I want to use the 2650 mah Turnigy 6S pack. I will use my 4s 5000 also I just want to use a pack that fits better then my 4S and that 6S fits perfect. I just bought the motor to if I would have thought about it earlier I would have got a lower KV motor instead.
In my experience you are going to see lower run times as the RPMs are going to be much higher so the amp draw is going to be higher.

For example, I used to run 4s with a Neu 1512 2.5 (2050kv) motor. I would get better runtimes on 4s than when I occasionally ran it on 5s. On 5s, the motor starts getting out of its most efficient rpm band. I have tried nearly every setup imaginable and almost always, the motors seem to run most efficient between 28-32k rpms.

If you goal is to use a smaller pack but keep the run times the same, you are going to have to get a lower kv motor. Nothing wrong with the 2200 Castle on 4s though. A very reliable setup for most conditions.
Edumakated is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:43 AM
  #753  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 549
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by malik
Guys I have a novice e-8th question. I have the MMM/2200 combo I want to go up to 5 or 6S now I know you ideally would want to go down in KV on the motor to do this but what would happen if I went up in cells and just geared it to the same speed as I would with my 4S pack? Would I get more runtime out of a smaller mah pack like you would switching to a smaller kv motor? I want to use the 2650 mah Turnigy 6S pack. I will use my 4s 5000 also I just want to use a pack that fits better then my 4S and that 6S fits perfect. I just bought the motor to if I would have thought about it earlier I would have got a lower KV motor instead.
That motor on 4S throws a Truggy around with ease. If you want something insanely fast you could run it on 5S or 6S in a buggy, but I think it will run very hot and be very difficult to drive even if its geared down. Usually 2000kv is great on 4S, 1700kv on 5S and 1300kv on 6S. I doubt you will get longer run times (for equal total watts of lipo) as higher motor RPMs means more heat and more heat means less efficiency.
GO-RIDE.com is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:14 AM
  #754  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (65)
 
markhat250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Forgive me Ve8 lovers, but I am still soooo skeptical about the balance. Seriously.....what size batteries are you guys running?

Also...you guys are switching out shocks? Do the stockers suck?

Anyone weigh this compared to say a 2.0 or RC8b? What....pound lighter?
markhat250 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:17 AM
  #755  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,595
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by markhat250
Forgive me Ve8 lovers, but I am still soooo skeptical about the balance. Seriously.....what size batteries are you guys running?

Also...you guys are switching out shocks? Do the stockers suck?

Anyone weigh this compared to say a 2.0 or RC8b? What....pound lighter?
switching out the shocks is not needed. It is however a tuneing option. For tracks with bigger jumps the longer shocks will benefit.
Balance on a scale will show it being off a little bit in the front mostly on the battery side. However, on the track you can tell no differance.

the car is stock form ready to do was right at a pound lighter than my friends rc8b-e
micrors4guy is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:24 AM
  #756  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (65)
 
markhat250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

I'm not a fan of mechanical brakes (at first I was), but now prefer the MMM breaks. So with that empty spot, it is even lighter on that side!! Are people putting weight where that servo should have gone? Makes sense, but I don't own one.....yet
markhat250 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:25 AM
  #757  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,595
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by markhat250
I'm not a fan of mechanical brakes (at first I was), but now prefer the MMM breaks. So with that empty spot, it is even lighter on that side!! Are people putting weight where that servo should have gone? Makes sense.
all measurements i have taken were without the servo or weight in that spot.
micrors4guy is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:26 AM
  #758  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (65)
 
markhat250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

So 4S 3000 mAh is the play? with 2050kv?
markhat250 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:27 AM
  #759  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,595
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by markhat250
So 4S 3000 mAh is the play? with 2050kv?
4s 4000mah would be the minimum i would use to get 10 mins.
micrors4guy is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:32 AM
  #760  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (65)
 
markhat250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Thanks!!

I wonder about 5S w/ 1700kv and maybe like a 2500-3000 mAh. I've done that with good results/lo heat and decent run times in my RC8b.
markhat250 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:39 AM
  #761  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (20)
 
Sancho08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 89
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

3s 5000 2650kv

I have been running motor breaks. I didn't add any extra weight to the servo side and I did not see any balance issues.
Sancho08 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:45 AM
  #762  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

hey I am trying to put on the M2C front inner hinge pins and the front end wont go back on. I see it needs dremeled out. Has anyone done this? Do you have to take alot off? I dont want to take away from the integrity of the chassis. And on the battery motor question I guess for now I am just going to have to stick with the 2200 on 4S.
malik is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:53 AM
  #763  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (18)
 
yzracer758's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tekin HQ
Posts: 3,030
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by malik
hey I am trying to put on the M2C front inner hinge pins and the front end wont go back on. I see it needs dremeled out. Has anyone done this? Do you have to take alot off? I dont want to take away from the integrity of the chassis. And on the battery motor question I guess for now I am just going to have to stick with the 2200 on 4S.
I would say you are gonna be one of the first to run the M2C's on a Ve8 so your kinda in un-charted waters with this one.
yzracer758 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 12:33 PM
  #764  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I used them from the beginning on my D8. I am going to get them on there and let you guys know what I had to do. I am a fan of threaded pins over the stock way. The only place I use the stockers is the rear inner.
malik is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:02 PM
  #765  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,466
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Buggy is on its way...

BUT

I was originally buying a truggy to run 4s with. I got 1700kv to keep it cool.

So i have a Ve8 on the way, with a rx8 1700kv buggy motor. And 2x4900 checkpoints and i have a pair of 5400s.

One track has a huge straight i will run outdoors, the other is around 100'.

Should i swap out motors? My goal is 15min's and reliability.
Thanks for the input. Thought i would ask here since you all talked me into buying the buggy LOL
OWTKAST cpt is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.