Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Jammin SCRT10 Thread >

Jammin SCRT10 Thread

Jammin SCRT10 Thread

Old 02-09-2010, 08:58 PM
  #1456  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
jhautz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,263
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Gtb was top of the line technology 2 years ago. The mmp and rs pro are top of the line technology every month or 2 when they release a software update.

I would never buy another esc that doesnt come with free software upgrades and support and regular release of software to add and refine features.

Both the castle and tekin ESCs offer that. Novak has fallen way behind the curve.
jhautz is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:02 PM
  #1457  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jhautz View Post
Gtb was top of the line technology 2 years ago. The mmp and rs pro are top of the line technology every month or 2 when they release a software update.

I would never buy another esc that doesnt come with free software upgrades and support and regular release of software to add and refine features.

Both the castle and tekin ESCs offer that.
A BIG X2!! Stick with something that can be updated easily. Not to mention the castle and tekin stuff is much newer technology(the hardware itself). The MMP has been working flawlessly for me, not to mention my MMM and sidewinder, which also work flawlessly. I like castle!
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:35 PM
  #1458  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (27)
 
WhiteFoxAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 256
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I have an SCRT 10 on order. What Mamba motors are you using?? or what do you suggest?? I am leaning toward Mamba or Tekin. Thanks!!
Does the 4600kv have enough push??
WhiteFoxAz is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:44 PM
  #1459  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WhiteFoxAz View Post
I have an SCRT 10 on order. What Mamba motors are you using?? or what do you suggest?? I am leaning toward Mamba or Tekin. Thanks!!
Does the 4600kv have enough push??
Take a read through this thread. Most people are using the novak HV 4.5 or 5.5 motors. While a 540 can like the castle 4600 would be alright, they really aren't ideal in the SCRT-10.
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:44 PM
  #1460  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm an A**HOLE!
Posts: 1,828
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WhiteFoxAz View Post
I have an SCRT 10 on order. What Mamba motors are you using?? or what do you suggest?? I am leaning toward Mamba or Tekin. Thanks!!
Does the 4600kv have enough push??
The 5700 is a better choice IMO, I have one in my Hyper if your interested.
Crawler is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:49 PM
  #1461  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (27)
 
WhiteFoxAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 256
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Thanks! I have been reading along. I am fairly new to RC or I should say i have been away for 17 years!! Have a B4, B44 and Losi 2.0T MMM all purchased in the last 6 months. I appreciate the help!!
WhiteFoxAz is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:05 PM
  #1462  
Tech Addict
 
russp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 667
Default

Thanks guys, I've owned castle stuff for a while, but know nothing bout the novak. Looks like I'm going by way of the mmp. All I can find locally is the combo, and that comes wt the 9000 kv motor that a be bout a useless motor to me
russp is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:09 PM
  #1463  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
Tron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I bought a slash body, slash front offsets and pro line caliber tires.

I have a few newbie questions if you would please indulge me.

1. The slash body fitment isn't perfect...the front overhangs the bumper a bit and the rear completely covers the rear bumper...have you guys cut out some of the body so the bumpers are exposed?

2. The slash front offsets and pro line calibers are BIG! How are you guys fitting it with the stock body? Cutting out the body a lot more?

3. The slash body seems to look OK - but still will require some extra cutting for steering lock to lock. The front posts will fit OK, but the rears are in an odd place. Any help or tricks of the trade you could offer would be great.

Thanks (Nitro truggy guy here...so always seemingly simple)

I went with the Jammin but it seems really small next to a slash or blitz! I love it so far, just need some help getting it setup...

TIA

Brett in Socal.
Tron is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:24 PM
  #1464  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by russp View Post
Thanks guys, I've owned castle stuff for a while, but know nothing bout the novak. Looks like I'm going by way of the mmp. All I can find locally is the combo, and that comes wt the 9000 kv motor that a be bout a useless motor to me
They are hard to find... Someone posted this earlier - http://www.gshobby.com/index.php?mai...ducts_id=18439

You can buy just the ESC

Originally Posted by Tron View Post
I bought a slash body, slash front offsets and pro line caliber tires.

I have a few newbie questions if you would please indulge me.

1. The slash body fitment isn't perfect...the front overhangs the bumper a bit and the rear completely covers the rear bumper...have you guys cut out some of the body so the bumpers are exposed?

2. The slash front offsets and pro line calibers are BIG! How are you guys fitting it with the stock body? Cutting out the body a lot more?

3. The slash body seems to look OK - but still will require some extra cutting for steering lock to lock. The front posts will fit OK, but the rears are in an odd place. Any help or tricks of the trade you could offer would be great.

Thanks (Nitro truggy guy here...so always seemingly simple)

I went with the Jammin but it seems really small next to a slash or blitz! I love it so far, just need some help getting it setup...

TIA

Brett in Socal.
If you use the stock Jammin body with the prolines you will have to trim the fenders up to get the wheels to not rub the fenders.

I have not seen a Slash body on one, but know the SC10 body fits with no over hang issues. Someone else might have some insight for ya on that.
SaladFork is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:41 PM
  #1465  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 237
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Wheel offset

SaladFork,
You have both a Jammin and a Hyper listed in your sig. do you know if the offset of the Hyper wheels is comparable to Slash front,or to the Slash rear wheels?...Or somewhere in between?
Thanks
Larry
laedco58 is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:08 PM
  #1466  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern California Pittsburg
Posts: 50
Default

Those that want to race I would HIGHLY recommend a SENSORED motor and ESC...I noticed a HUGE difference in control and everything...I feather the throttle and with a sensorless it has lots of lag/latency....I also got a nice deal on an HV PRO ESC...It is BIG but nice easy programming and seems to work nice...

WCRC tomorrow to see how it works...
rcdrivertim is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:20 PM
  #1467  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
z50king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upland, Cal Poly
Posts: 1,922
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Matt just got his home

post pics you doosh
z50king is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:36 PM
  #1468  
Tech Addict
 
russp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 667
Default

Originally Posted by z50kgin View Post
Matt just got his home

post pics you doosh
Lol that's funny there...
What's up eric
russp is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:42 PM
  #1469  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (28)
 
marksp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SaladFork View Post
It's really good (not as much low end punch), but am going to swap it out for the HV 4.5... I just want less stress on the motor. I went to order the HV the other day when I saw it on Nitrohouse and bam they sold out.
Try giving them a call. When I spoke with NitroHouse today, they still had HV4.5's even though they were removed from web. Selling like hotcakes!
marksp is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 12:08 AM
  #1470  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
Tron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by marksp View Post
Try giving them a call. When I spoke with NitroHouse today, they still had HV4.5's even though they were removed from web. Selling like hotcakes!
Yes, definitely call Nitrohouse. Their internet stock accuracy is useless. I have ordered things from them that show "IN STOCK" on their website only to be burned by them, show up to pick the order up and be told "You JUST MISSED OUT and the previous internet order just got the last one"

And...the icing on the cake: by these times I had already missed the opportunity to get it elsewhere for the racing that night...
Tron is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.