Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Jammin SCRT10 Thread >

Jammin SCRT10 Thread

Jammin SCRT10 Thread

Old 01-13-2010, 11:24 PM
  #676  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 237
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bigbeej View Post
Any of you guys running HV's got any advice?
I don't have any info for you on the 5.5 or 6.5, but I have the HV 4.5 in my truck. It's the dead of winter here where I live so the only running I have done is on a small tight twisty indoor track. The 4.5 is serious overkill for this track but will be a blast come spring on the big outdoor tracks. I am anxiously awaiting a stretch of mild sunny weather so the ice and snow will clear off the roads around my house and I can turn it loose on the black top and break in the tires better and let it wind out a little.

Last edited by laedco58; 01-15-2010 at 02:01 PM.
laedco58 is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 01:18 AM
  #677  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (31)
 
Joe_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I read that Chad Bradley is running the 4.5HV in his car. Looked pretty good in the vid they shot at the race at Hot Rod Hobbies.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lm2TI-OneO4
Joe_Racer is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 04:57 AM
  #678  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xxxtruck View Post
Got mine on order waiting on it to come in. I have bought the SC10 body. The aluminum steering ackerman. For tires goosebumps, bowties, and calibers, mounted on white jc rims. Is there any thing else I need to buy so I can be ready when it gets here. I have tekin RS PRO and 6.5 would like to do the big motor but tekin only has a 2650kv for their highest motor.
on 2s 2650 is to small of kv
xxxtruck is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 08:46 AM
  #679  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 33
Default

anyone know the battery tray dimensions? I want to get the biggest lipo that will fit before my truck arrives. Thanks
Resinrider is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 08:53 AM
  #680  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: n.e. ohio
Posts: 892
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Resinrider View Post
anyone know the battery tray dimensions? I want to get the biggest lipo that will fit before my truck arrives. Thanks
i havent measured yet, but it fits an ip 2s 5000 30c w/ alittle room. i also ran a max amps 2s 6500 30c but its tight you have to jam it in there. both have i foam spacer pad clearance in front, but the max amps you have a hell of a thime getting out. hope that helps some.
cbrociuos is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:00 AM
  #681  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,140
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bigbeej View Post
Any of you guys running HV's got any advice?
What specifically?

I took the KO BMC1 out of my touring car and directly installed it in my SCRT10 with an HV5.5, geared it appropriately and it's been running great!

Motor temps at 150*, ESC temps at 130* 2s 40C LiPo's temping at 100* after a 5 minute run with warm up.
Racecrafter is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:06 AM
  #682  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 549
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by litlemac26 View Post
I have a question about the shocks. I have put new fluid in my front shocks and after 1 race day they were almost empty and leaked out the top. How can i stop them from leaking and is there another shock that matches up to these that i could use. I have been in the sport for 6 years so it is not a rookie mistake. Never had shocks leak this bad.
Something went wrong in assembly. Did you remember the bladders? Did you over tighten the top caps and damage the bladders? The stock shocks on the crt.5 are the most reliable shocks I've ever used. Even better than any 1/8 scale. I'd go weeks w/o having to top them off, and when I'd check they'd be completely full.
GO-RIDE.com is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:44 AM
  #683  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Racecrafter View Post
What specifically?

I took the KO BMC1 out of my touring car and directly installed it in my SCRT10 with an HV5.5, geared it appropriately and it's been running great!

Motor temps at 150*, ESC temps at 130* 2s 40C LiPo's temping at 100* after a 5 minute run with warm up.
I have an HV6.5 and a MMpro waiting to drop in. On my TP 40c 2s 5000 lipos what should I gear it with and what speeds can I expect?
bigbeej is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:45 AM
  #684  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: n.e. ohio
Posts: 892
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i think the slash front offsets are the way to go. i mounted some up last night @ the track they filled out an sc10 body perfect. i have m3 bowties on hyper 10 wheels now and its still alittle narrow. i was traction rolling @ the end of our strait. i think the front slash will be the hot setup. ill keep you posted when i get some beadlocks mounted up in that offset.
cbrociuos is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 04:21 PM
  #685  
Tech Addict
 
russp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 667
Default

So what other 8th scale motor setups will work with this truck? Is there another motor equivelent to the hv 4.5? Tekin, castle maube?
russp is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 05:48 PM
  #686  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 33
Default

Originally Posted by cbrociuos View Post
i havent measured yet, but it fits an ip 2s 5000 30c w/ alittle room. i also ran a max amps 2s 6500 30c but its tight you have to jam it in there. both have i foam spacer pad clearance in front, but the max amps you have a hell of a thime getting out. hope that helps some.
Thanks, I was thinking of picking up some of the new Hyperion G3's. Not sure if they will fit, but I can always mod the tray if needed.
Resinrider is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 05:54 PM
  #687  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by russp View Post
So what other 8th scale motor setups will work with this truck? Is there another motor equivelent to the hv 4.5? Tekin, castle maube?
Not really. Those are all too low KV. You need at least 3500 KV to run on 2s preferably in the 4000-5000kv range. If you run lower KV you will have to run at least a 3s battery. I generally shoot for 30-40K rpm (KV times voltage input).
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 06:14 PM
  #688  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 428
Default

proline tires and stock body = no problem!

Just got my SCRT10 and fitted up some proline beadlocks with proline bowtie sc tires and they fit with the stock body no problem!!!! just pull the hex of and you are good to go!


wheel part number is proline 2717-04
Manufacturercup is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 08:05 PM
  #689  
Tech Addict
 
russp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 667
Default

Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Not really. Those are all too low KV. You need at least 3500 KV to run on 2s preferably in the 4000-5000kv range. If you run lower KV you will have to run at least a 3s battery. I generally shoot for 30-40K rpm (KV times voltage input).
So then even the novak 5.5 hv is pushin the lower end of the kv range correct? thats all i can find around here since the 4.5 is discontinued, all im able to find are the 5.5 and 6.5 motors
russp is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 08:11 PM
  #690  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by russp View Post
So then even the novak 5.5 hv is pushin the lower end of the kv range correct? thats all i can find around here since the 4.5 is discontinued, all im able to find are the 5.5 and 6.5 motors
That's correct but the 5.5 is adequate. 3700KV(still high compared to other 1/8 motors) will produce 27,380 rpm which should be fine. You can also gear it up a tad to get more top end if needed. I know some guys are running the 5.5hv with good results.
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.