Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
MaxAmps vs Thunder Power..Which is more reliable? >

MaxAmps vs Thunder Power..Which is more reliable?

MaxAmps vs Thunder Power..Which is more reliable?

Old 08-03-2009, 02:56 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
gaminking22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulare, CA
Posts: 22
Default MaxAmps vs Thunder Power..Which is more reliable?

I was thinking 4s 5000 mah, 40c, 14.8v..I know they both make one, just wanted some opionons.
gaminking22 is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 03:24 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
RBMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 1,264
Default

Originally Posted by gaminking22 View Post
I was thinking 4s 5000 mah, 40c, 14.8v..I know they both make one, just wanted some opionons.

No contest, ThunderPower.

Max amps spec are not accurate, TP's are.
RBMike is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 03:36 PM
  #3  
Dan
Tech Champion
iTrader: (74)
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,104
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

With ThunderPower, you pay for your quality cells.

With MaxAmps, you pay for their marketing department.
Dan is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:02 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: anywhere I can race 2wd dirt,and 1/12 onroad in MI.
Posts: 3,865
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RBMike View Post
No contest, ThunderPower.

Max amps spec are not accurate, TP's are.
+1!!!!!
2wdMod is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:08 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm an A**HOLE!
Posts: 1,828
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan View Post
With ThunderPower, you pay for your quality cells.

With MaxAmps, you pay for their marketing department.

+1

And as some of you may know, Max Amps recently switched to a "surge rating" on their packs. Seems Castle Creations doesn't think this is the way to go and recently started adding this amedment to their ESCs.

Thunder Power FTW.
Attached Thumbnails MaxAmps vs Thunder Power..Which is more reliable?-mmm_lipo_warning.jpg  
Crawler is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (64)
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Is the Max Amps a hard case? I know the Thunder Power packs are. This is important for safety reasons, as well as many tracks may not allow the use of a soft case pack. Just food for thought.
SpraydbySprague is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:56 PM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
gaminking22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulare, CA
Posts: 22
Default

Yes they are hard cased.....the maxamps are more too i believe...
gaminking22 is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:59 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
drperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

MaxAmps has both hard and soft cases.
drperry is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 06:17 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Savage_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 134
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have never owned Max Amps but have been using Thunder Power and love them
Savage_Racing is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 06:22 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,106
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

I had a few max amps batts in the past I did manage to ruin 2 of them but I think it was by user error the remaining three I had worked great but they were soft case...never owned a TP pack but I've heard the best about them. a friend of mine has one and so far it's been excellent in the slash
NitroLuver is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 06:25 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,173
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

There is no question in my mind that Thunder Power have the best batteries out there. Plus they have some of the best customer service in the industry. I've dealt with them for cars, and rc helicopters, and will never run another lipo battery other than Thunder Power because of it.
Korey Harbke is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 06:29 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
OG RC 10T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,656
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

My first and only lipo fire was with a max amps lipo, they did replace it though. Then I sold the replacement.

They have good customer servicethough
OG RC 10T is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 06:40 PM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
gaminking22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulare, CA
Posts: 22
Default

Great!!!.....no fires lol....thankx for the info guys
gaminking22 is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 07:15 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (73)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wallnut, CA
Posts: 2,477
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

I have never owned a TT but can tell you first hand that MaxAmps are hype.
losifiend is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 07:19 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,325
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I have owned and run both TP and MaxAmps with great sucess. I have had no issues with either brand. I now run MaxAmps 6500 packs in my 1/8th buggy and love them.
badassrevo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.