Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Speedpassion ESCs for 1/10 scale racing >

Speedpassion ESCs for 1/10 scale racing

Speedpassion ESCs for 1/10 scale racing

Old 05-22-2009, 10:35 AM
  #16  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (61)
 
tmail55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TN Mountains!!
Posts: 3,296
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Like I said!!!

===

Shawn and Adam IS >>> Schmacher USA!!!

I have never met any better support people in my life!

===

THANKS Adam >>> abailey21
tmail55 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 11:13 AM
  #17  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
trx450racer174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Moreno Valley,CA
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have any experience with the new shortcourse systems???? I am looking to maybe buy one of these just not sure about sensorless motor..
trx450racer174 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 12:04 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (61)
 
tmail55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TN Mountains!!
Posts: 3,296
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trx450racer174 View Post
Does anyone have any experience with the new shortcourse systems???? I am looking to maybe buy one of these just not sure about sensorless motor..
With what I've seen and drove (my race team partner has the 3000kV in his Slash) the sensorless motor isn't a problem.

Per SP info for turn to kV rating, the shortcourse is between a 9.5 and a 10.5. That's more than enough power for a shortcourse truck. I raced my Slash with a SP 13.5 AND that was more than the tires/track could handle!

Be sure to power what ever BL you get with a 3200 and up lipo, without lipo power you won't know how much power you have! Really!!!!
tmail55 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:10 PM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
trx450racer174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Moreno Valley,CA
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tmail55 View Post
With what I've seen and drove (my race team partner has the 3000kV in his Slash) the sensorless motor isn't a problem.

Per SP info for turn to kV rating, the shortcourse is between a 9.5 and a 10.5. That's more than enough power for a shortcourse truck. I raced my Slash with a SP 13.5 AND that was more than the tires/track could handle!

Be sure to power what ever BL you get with a 3200 and up lipo, without lipo power you won't know how much power you have! Really!!!!

Ok thanks for that i have never run sensorless but for the price compared to a Novak Havoc system and the optional USB tuning interface it looks like a good system.

Now it's not stated but does this ESC have LIPO cutoff???? the S/P web site says it supports 2s/3s lipo's but is vague on lipo cutoff..
trx450racer174 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:47 PM
  #20  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Matt 10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Any oval track w/ (.)(.)
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yes it does have the lipo cut-off.
Matt 10 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 03:16 PM
  #21  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
trx450racer174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Moreno Valley,CA
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Matt 10 View Post
Yes it does have the lipo cut-off.
Thank you looks like i have found my next system..
trx450racer174 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 03:42 PM
  #22  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 39
Default

The new low-profile esc looks pretty sweet!

But what are the differences between the programming box that comes with the esc and the LCD box? The LCD box looks quite cool though

Thanks!
Sabben is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 03:50 PM
  #23  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (37)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: ATX
Posts: 5,378
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

The LCD box has the USB interface to perform the S/W updates to your ESC.

other than that it works the same as the stock box

Originally Posted by Sabben View Post
The new low-profile esc looks pretty sweet!

But what are the differences between the programming box that comes with the esc and the LCD box? The LCD box looks quite cool though

Thanks!
abailey21 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 05:34 PM
  #24  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 477
Default

i run the venom pro esc and its pretty much the same esc as the speed passion made bye the same company it has the program box and has all the same settings as a speed passion and man i love this thing! no more hauling my 1100.00 lap top to the dusty track just plug my little box in and make my changes. im gonna grab a new speed passion for my up coming kyosho sp and will not even think about buying anything else. speed passion is the bomb. quality stuff im shell shocked its not more popular than it is. looks like they are finaly getting some respect
charly71 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 08:53 AM
  #25  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

i ran my exige 2.0 esc with m chassis motor(3300kv) last night in my sc10 and im very amazed on how the truck was with that motor only thing is my motor was getting to around 165 degrees and i know needs to come down or is that a good temp all the time and how high should i worry about temps on theses motors. and does it matter how long i run it it should stay the same ? i have the 75 spur/23 pinion. if i go lower on pinion should cool it off ? thnx in advance Will G

Last edited by will g; 05-23-2009 at 09:26 AM.
will g is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 09:13 AM
  #26  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
trx450racer174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Moreno Valley,CA
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

yes try a 21 and see what it goes down to.
trx450racer174 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 09:27 AM
  #27  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Matt 10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Any oval track w/ (.)(.)
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

160-165 is perfect. If you race during the day and it gets a littler hotter than that then drop a tooth or 2. You don't want to get it hotter than 170.
Matt 10 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 09:37 AM
  #28  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Matt 10 View Post
160-165 is perfect. If you race during the day and it gets a littler hotter than that then drop a tooth or 2. You don't want to get it hotter than 170.
it was at night it was in the high 70s last night and raining alittle ill go ahead and drop 2 teeth i just got it open up the holes for the mount for the motor cant get that small on there yet
will g is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 10:11 AM
  #29  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

i just went out in my front yard and ran around on and off the throttle dirt and street and ran 16 mins exaclty and only ran 145degree. i ran it pretty hard but i think that did it thnx to all normally you would only run what 6-7 heats and a 10-15 mins main im guessing.

Last edited by will g; 05-23-2009 at 10:38 AM.
will g is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 03:01 PM
  #30  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 864
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Is this the one r40victim?
jnyrcr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.