RC8e packs

Old 05-15-2009, 10:12 PM
  #16  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SRS, AZ
Posts: 993
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racenut123 View Post
Is it a direct fit on the rc8e?
to the diff yes. But I had to shave .010 or so off the RC-Monster motor mount with center of gear being metal real tight fit width wise. Maybe with other motor mounts it would be ok. Well worth 2min with dremil.
TMR CHASSIS is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 10:44 AM
  #17  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Reedy 5000

For all of you that are running 2 Reedy 5000 35C in your RC8. When you recharge the batteries are you charging them both separately or are you somehow charging them both at the same time. I know there is a way to do it but I don't want to mess something up. So how do you do this so I don't have to purchase another charger. I have an ICE. Thanks.
Kingsbury is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 10:55 AM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 4,513
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
For all of you that are running 2 Reedy 5000 35C in your RC8. When you recharge the batteries are you charging them both separately or are you somehow charging them both at the same time. I know there is a way to do it but I don't want to mess something up. So how do you do this so I don't have to purchase another charger. I have an ICE. Thanks.
Before i switched over the to the RCPD set up I made a 2s x 2s balance adapter its simple just follow this wiring diagram. Also I believe AE is releasing a one so you don't have to build one.
nv529 is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 10:59 AM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Nick. Then charge it as a 14.8 battery? at 10 amps or still 5? I dont use a balancer when I charge them, never have. But when combining 2 packs together its probably a good idea huh?
Kingsbury is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 11:17 AM
  #20  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 4,513
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
Thanks Nick. Then charge it as a 14.8 battery? at 10 amps or still 5? I dont use a balancer when I charge them, never have. But when combining 2 packs together its probably a good idea huh?

its your choice on how you want to charge them I prefer 5amps 4s. One thing I did notice when charging each pack individually one pack would dump just before the other IDK why same packs, age, and run time, but it always did after I a made a wiring hardness to charge and balance as a set i never had that issue again. But as a precaution bump up your lipo cut off to 12.8v instead of 12v. I feel 12v is almost to low for these cars you'll know when its coming because the car can hardly move under its own power.
nv529 is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 11:28 AM
  #21  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Do you know how to put two of the reedy packs together with a balancer? I use the checkpoint balancer.
Kingsbury is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 01:35 AM
  #22  
Tech Adept
 
TEAM-AE-4-EVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: CALIFORNIA
Posts: 202
Default

Originally Posted by Kingsbury View Post
Do you know how to put two of the reedy packs together with a balancer? I use the checkpoint balancer.
I too have a few Checkpoint balancers that I use while charging pack for my 1/10th Scale use... unfortunately the Checkpoint balancer only does up to 3S... good thing I got a deal on a few other balancers that can easily handle up to 6S.


With regard to batteries for the RC8E... definitely go with the Reedy packs. They are tried and tested. I have heard good things with regard to the SMCs as well but have never used them. Buy the cheap stuff at your own peril. Some have had luck while others haven't. Its hit or miss... better pray your not in the miss group cause if you are... better get ready for a whole lot of frustration and hope its not just the batteries you lose... is it really worth the gamble and the risk?
TEAM-AE-4-EVER is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 08:13 AM
  #23  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Noah R.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have an older Neu 25 C 14.8v 5000 MAH that is a direct fit, my guess is the new ones probably are the same. The new SMC 50c 5000 MAH 14.8V are supposed to be screaming, so thats probably a good choice if you have the cash laying arround.
Noah R. is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 02:43 PM
  #24  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Venice Beach
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Any place where I can check the specs for the SMC? Size etc..? Thanks
LAGuy is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 08:46 PM
  #25  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 4,513
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

only the SMC 4s 5400mah(5440SC) will fit the AE rc8E kit the smc 4s 5000mah (5040SC) will not its to long for the battery tray but you can run 2 x2s smc without any issues. when I first got my rc8e i had the AE conversion and I ran 2 smc 4100mah 24c without any issues with a 2200kv castle set up now that I have a RCPD conversion I can fit any battery in my car.
nv529 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:06 AM
  #26  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
B.A. Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,894
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yea now im running two 2S 5000mah 28c batteries together and i love it...but i heard SMC is coming out with some hard cased ROAR legal Hard cased 4S...is this rumor true?
B.A. Racer is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 10:17 AM
  #27  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by B.A. Racer View Post
Yea now im running two 2S 5000mah 28c batteries together and i love it...but i heard SMC is coming out with some hard cased ROAR legal Hard cased 4S...is this rumor true?
SMC will surely have one. Reedy will be submitting one soon as well.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 11:04 AM
  #28  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
MustGoFaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 387
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LAGuy View Post
Any place where I can check the specs for the SMC? Size etc..? Thanks
This pack will fit the RC Product Designs RC8 battery tray:
Part # 5040SC
5000mAh 40C+ 4s 14.8V softcase with Deans.
Size: 35mm x 45mm x 160mm (W x H x L)

This pack will fit the Team Associated RC8e battery tray:
Part # 5400SC
5400mAh 40C+ 4s 14.8V softcase with Deans.
Size: 46mm x 46mm x 133mm (W x H x L)

As Rich H. mentioned, SMC will have a hard cased LiPo soon (approx. 2-3 weeks) that will fit the Team Associated RC8e battery tray.
MustGoFaster is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 01:42 AM
  #29  
Tech Adept
 
TEAM-AE-4-EVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: CALIFORNIA
Posts: 202
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
SMC will surely have one. Reedy will be submitting one soon as well.
That's COOL Rick!
TEAM-AE-4-EVER is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 02:22 AM
  #30  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Leodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,058
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TEAM-AE-4-EVER View Post
That's COOL Rick!
AE is going after my wallet like crazy this year! First the FT RC8e
and now the Reedy 4s 5000. I'm doing just fine with two Reedy 2s 5000's right now, but it would be nice to bring another charged pack to the track.
Leodis is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.