Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Average cost of AMB transponder repair >

Average cost of AMB transponder repair

Average cost of AMB transponder repair

Reply

Old 05-03-2009, 08:33 PM
  #1  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,596
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default Average cost of AMB transponder repair

I have an amb transponder that stopped working when I went to hook it up on one of my vehicles (it worked immediately prior on another vehicle).

on average, what are you guys seeing for repair costs?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:25 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
TheBackmarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 208
Default

They are warrantied for one year, but I've had a dozen or more and some of them for many years and never had to send one in for repair. Generally you just plug it in and turn on the car and you'll see a little green light on it. If the light is working, the transponder is transmitting. If it's not, you probably have a bad plug. Your receiver may also have a bad port. Plug the transponder into another channel for testing purposes. It can be powered from any channel. If the light comes on, get a small y-harness and run it off throttle or steering if necessary. But if it does need repair just call AMB and ask them your questions. Visit their site at http://www.amb-it.com/index.php
TheBackmarker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 06:57 AM
  #3  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,596
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default

I tried this in two different ports in two different receivers (4 ports total) and it didn't work. It worked fine immediately prior to switching it to another vehicle.

I'll give them a call today. Thanks for the heads up.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 08:38 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fullerton, california
Posts: 496
Default

I would swap the connector before sending it in. During the swap it may have been enlarged hence not making contact. Was the PT installed in the first receiver for a long time, did it get wet? There may be some oxidation that is not allowing a solid connection. My money is on the connector give it a try.
Thopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:48 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 49 (95%+)
Default

Hopefully its under warranty, I called AMB about replacing a sheared off lead on mine and they said they do not repair the RC personals, only replace them and offered me one for $95.
loopedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 10:22 AM
  #6  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,596
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default

this won't be a warranty unit.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:08 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
exploder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tustin
Posts: 623
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

cut off the old connector and soder on a new plug ive done this a few times ive even taken the case apart and sodered a new plug onto the circuit board
exploder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:12 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 49 (95%+)
Default

Mine is sheared off at the case, how are you opening the case on them, are they potted into the case?
loopedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:29 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
exploder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tustin
Posts: 623
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

i cut the end off of it with a sharp blade and they r shoe good in there and u have to be careful cutting the shoe goo away
exploder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:30 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
exploder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tustin
Posts: 623
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

or the easy way is cut the bottom out and pull it out that way and then just heat shrink it all back together when your done like heat shrink the whole case. make sure to write down your number first
exploder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 12:29 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 49 (95%+)
Default

thanks, ill give it a shot, that shoe goo stuff is potting or conformal coating
loopedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 03:53 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
exploder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tustin
Posts: 623
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

ill fix transponders for 30 bucks. pm me if u r interested. ill solder on a new wire onto the board. let me kno. pm me and ill give u my address
exploder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 11:54 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
bigfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 246
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Exclamation AMBrc DP wire replacement

Originally Posted by loopedout View Post
Hopefully its under warranty, I called AMB about replacing a sheared off lead on mine and they said they do not repair the RC personals, only replace them and offered me one for $95.
I fix these professionally for $35AUD (about $29USD)
Good as new.

I also fit new batteries in most AMB rechargeable handout transponders.

www.transponderservices.com

regards
Jeff
bigfix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 01:35 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Cain I suggest you send it to TeamMRT.com rclaps.com is their website. You send them in your broken amb they will clone it on to 1 of their much smaller units. You get to choose the length of the wire the color of your led wether you want tabs or not. They are just awesome. I just got 1 of their newest ones also the wires are replaceable 4 tiny screws and thats it. Also by sending your ol Amb in they give you a discount. With out a discount I just paid like $62 shipped to my door, and they are 1/2 the size of the amb's, use like a 3rd of the juice just all around a better product to me. Check them out. I wont ever spend $109 again.
malik is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service