R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2009, 12:45 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default Equinox Balancer/lipo problem..help?

Ok so I think the last time I ran my lipo, I ran it a little low, and forgot to put a small charge on it, while it sat on the shelf for a week. I plug it into my Equinox balancer so I can charge it, and the ERROR LED is stuck on. I can't get it to Interface Mode to charge the damn thing, no matter what I do. Anyone have any idea what to do, or am I basically screwed?
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:05 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Does anyone know anything about this? Is my lipo basically a paperweight now?
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:19 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Ive looked everywhere online, and I guarantee not one person knows what to do. I am about to just throw this battery and balancer straight out the window into the woods.
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:27 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Just to make sure you know whats going on, take a voltmeter and measure lipo voltage. I'm guessing you've overdischarged one or both cells. Take lipo and using NiMH setting, charge lipo at .5amp or 1amp until voltage is back up over minimum. Monitor this carefully while charging. Stop charging as soon as voltage is back over minimum and switch back to your normal lipo charge/balance charging. You can try charging alone w/o balancer, but if lipo is below min voltage, lipo charge routine may give you an error as well.

Starting voltage now above minimum should make everything ok. Watch lipo for a few cycles and if cell doesn't puff you're prob good.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:35 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duster_360 View Post
Just to make sure you know whats going on, take a voltmeter and measure lipo voltage. I'm guessing you've overdischarged one or both cells. Take lipo and using NiMH setting, charge lipo at .5amp or 1amp until voltage is back up over minimum. Monitor this carefully while charging. Stop charging as soon as voltage is back over minimum and switch back to your normal lipo charge/balance charging. You can try charging alone w/o balancer, but if lipo is below min voltage, lipo charge routine may give you an error as well.

Starting voltage now above minimum should make everything ok. Watch lipo for a few cycles and if cell doesn't puff you're prob good.
I dont have a voltmeter. Is there any way I can just do that with my ICE? If the cell doesnt puff? Im in an apartment, if anything goes wrong, this whole place will burn to the ground.
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:38 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
B.A. Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,862
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

do u have a lipo cutoff on ur speed control
B.A. Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:39 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.A. Racer View Post
do u have a lipo cutoff on ur speed control
Yeah I did, and it was on.
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:40 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duster_360 View Post
Just to make sure you know whats going on, take a voltmeter and measure lipo voltage. I'm guessing you've overdischarged one or both cells. Take lipo and using NiMH setting, charge lipo at .5amp or 1amp until voltage is back up over minimum. Monitor this carefully while charging. Stop charging as soon as voltage is back over minimum and switch back to your normal lipo charge/balance charging. You can try charging alone w/o balancer, but if lipo is below min voltage, lipo charge routine may give you an error as well.

Starting voltage now above minimum should make everything ok. Watch lipo for a few cycles and if cell doesn't puff you're prob good.
So you are saying take the lipo, plug it straight into the ICE via the deans plug, and start charging it at .5amp? How dangerous is this?
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 04:36 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

anyone?
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 05:10 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
pserve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

To get the best idea of what is going on, you'd need to get a voltmeter and test the cell voltages. I suspect that you ran it too low, and now the balancer is refusing to charge it. According to the Equinox manual, the Error LED should be blinking a code. 1, 2, or 3 flashes. Is yours doing that?
pserve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 12:12 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainHowdyt13 View Post
So you are saying take the lipo, plug it straight into the ICE via the deans plug, and start charging it at .5amp? How dangerous is this?
Thats exactly what I'm saying, but only if you really have oversdischarged the lipo and the voltage is below minimum (~3v/cell). If the lipo has voltage in proper range, don't try this - your prob is elsewhere. Its time to buy a cheapie dvm - I think I paid $10 for the one i've got and for what it does, it does a fine job.

This is a typical recovery trick I've seen used with success for a lot of cases.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:31 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net