R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   HELP! OS .21RZ(VO1B) problem (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/28853-help-os-21rz-vo1b-problem.html)

nitroaddict 12-05-2003 11:26 AM

HELP! OS .21RZ(VO1B) problem

Ok, here is the full detail scoop. I am not a novice, but this one just has me stumped. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Engine: OS Max .21RZ(VO1B)

Piston/sleeve/conrod are about 3/4 gallon old.
Carb was rebuilt about 1/2 gallon ago.
30% odonnell - 280 avg race temp

During the middle of a race, the engine began acting up and has not ran right since. Here is the problem:

Engine gives indication that the LSN is set EXTREMELY rich. LSN and HSN settings were not adjusted, problem came up on its own. Acceleration from a stop is extremely sluggish, there is plenty of smoke from the exhaust, and it sounds rich. once up to speed, drives nice and has power, but much LESS power than before the problem. When at idel, or coming to a stop, the engine will not run, and stalls. Will stay running at a stand still if throttle is constantly blipped to keep the RPMS up.

Took the carb apart and inspected all parts. Everything is okay, all o rings and seals are in good order, and needles are not damaged. Replaced carb and returned needles to std race settings (2 1/2 HSN, 2 1/2 LSN). Problem is still the same. Leaned the LSN in almost completely, no change. Richened it to 4 turns out. No change.

Checked the clutch to make sure it wasnt engaging early. It wasnt, and is in good working order.

skengines 12-05-2003 12:21 PM

you might want to check for any air leaks.

nitroaddict 12-05-2003 12:25 PM

Originally posted by skengines
you might want to check for any air leaks.
But wouldnt an airleak cause an overly LEAN condition? Not an overly rich condition?

skengines 12-05-2003 12:39 PM