R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2009, 09:41 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Will I kill my my BL Erevo if:

Will I kill my my BL Erevo if i use my 7.4v 2s2p 8000mah 10c true rc batts?

I really want to use my erevo but my batts havent turned up yet!

So can i use my old ones? Am a bit worried about doint the MMM combo damage!


ANY help would be appreciated!
smallnails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:18 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,672
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cheesecake
Default

why would that do it damage?
cheesecake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:34 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
snowboard094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sac Town CA
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smallnails View Post
Will I kill my my BL Erevo if i use my 7.4v 2s2p 8000mah 10c true rc batts?

I really want to use my erevo but my batts havent turned up yet!

So can i use my old ones? Am a bit worried about doint the MMM combo damage!


ANY help would be appreciated!
are you using 2x2 7.4v or just one.
__________________
-Electrical wiz-Let me check your shorts.....that came out wrong
"Team Terrible"
Ofna Hyper 10sc
T-maxx O.S .18tm
snowboard094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:55 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

You have 2 of these batteries? Your fine I would say...10C on a 8000Mah is around 80A current. True RC states these can surge up to 120A
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 12:18 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default nuffin

Soooo...........i plugged them in, and...................nothing............not a scerrick!

Now.......there is 2 leads coming out of the batts obivously red and black, but coming out of the esc is two also, red and black, going to one batt is 2 black and going to the other batt is a red and black! does this make a diff? how has every one wired in their batts, the same way as the standard erevo?

Last edited by smallnails; 04-03-2009 at 12:22 AM. Reason: batts
smallnails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 12:31 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default leds?

and another thing.................its says the leds will flash when i plug the batts in, there are no darn leds that i can see on the ESC!
smallnails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 04:16 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,672
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cheesecake
Default

do you have them in wired in series
positive from speed controller to positive of battery 1
negative of battery 1 to positive of battery 2
negative of battery 2 to negative of speed controller
cheesecake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 05:36 AM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smallnails View Post
and another thing.................its says the leds will flash when i plug the batts in, there are no darn leds that i can see on the ESC!
The LEDs are on the circuit board and you have to look down from top to see them - LEDs are located between the motor connectors, there's a small square hole in the case - the LEDs are right below the hole.

You're doing something wrong the way you're connecting the batts.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 06:34 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Can you take a photo?
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 06:46 AM   #10
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I don't understand - on the Flux, the series harness is already there and part of the esc wiring. There are two male Deans ready for batt connection - no confusion and no question about what needs to happen. Plug and play!

Can't believe TRX didn't do the same - have they used trx connectors instead??
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 06:52 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Here is a stock photo of the wiring...defiantly in series. What connectors are on the batteries?

__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 02:03 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default buggy esc?

Thanks for those photos, it shows that i am doing that part of it all ok, bit of an update....bit odd..........................i can get it going now prolly only 3 out of ten times trying, will plug it all in, turn on transmittor turn on esc, then nothing..................................do the exact same thing after disconnecting the batts and then reconnecting it all again in the exact same order..................and she fires up if i am lucky!.............could it be a buggy ESC?

i found those Led's too! haha.........cant beleive i didnt see them.




She goes quite quick on these batts, am definately going to need a wheely bar!
smallnails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:27 PM   #13
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

That makes no sense at all, in all the trouble with prev version of the MMM, never read about prob like you're having.

Any chance one or both of your batts has a poor connection? That is what I'd suspect, when you can't get it to fire up, try working the batt connections back and forth and just moving wires around and see if the voltage comes back and it fires. Systems that pull some amps don't tolerate quirky batt connections like smaller amp draws will.

Once your new batts get arrive, if its still doing this, I'd be calling TRX.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:25 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net