Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Traxxas Bandit

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2009, 12:14 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Traxxas Bandit

Im new to this hobby, and bought myself a Traxxas Bandit XL-5. Looked like a good purchase to me, but from the looks of it, no one around here seems to use them. Everyone has Traxxas Rustlers though which is almost the same thing as a Bandit (from my understanding).

I dont think this was a bad purchase but we will see. The main question I have right now is runtime, and is an overheating ESC/motor a big issue? Im wondering because its nearly summer here in Iraq and well, ya know the ambient temperature gets up there.

And to sum up this post, are there any other major issues with Traxxas Bandits that I should keep in mind?
Old 03-17-2009, 12:48 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)

i'm not sure about your temperature question im in California and it's never that hot here. Mybe some one else will answer that one for you.

As for your other question. I have a Rustler and i can tell you make sure to get spare parts especially front and rear carriers and A arms. if you have the $$ upgrade the carriers to Aluminum or atleast the RPM upgrades.
Old 03-17-2009, 12:53 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

i really wanted the bandit, but seeing that i already had a stampede with extra parts it was the smart option to buy a rustler which shares more parts, including expensive wheels and tires. You shouldnt have a problem with overheating unless going really slow. Make sure you buy some extra parts, it sucks to get SOL when your friends are still ripping it up.
Old 03-17-2009, 12:56 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)

The difference is Truck and Buggy. So to answer your question in a round about way, no. Some like trucks some like buggies, thats all.

There are also a million answers to your quesions.

In short if you beat the snot out of it over and over, it will get hot. If it is not geared properly it will over heat, ect....