R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2009, 06:34 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default MMM

I order a MMM few month ago to go with my Rc8-E project.

I'm working on it again and i opened up my MMM box.

It was suppose to be a V2 when i order it on internet. My problem is where do i connect the cable to update the Esc. I opened up the case and there is No where i could connect it to my PC....Is it a v1 or some older stuff i just got?

I got everything you see ins this picture.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...mmm-mmm-v2.jpg

Sorry if i'm a noob bit i really dont see tehre i could plug this 3 fork thinghy
mondenet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:51 PM   #2
BSS
Tech Addict
 
BSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mondenet View Post
I order a MMM few month ago to go with my Rc8-E project.

I'm working on it again and i opened up my MMM box.

It was suppose to be a V2 when i order it on internet. My problem is where do i connect the cable to update the Esc. I opened up the case and there is No where i could connect it to my PC....Is it a v1 or some older stuff i just got?

I got everything you see ins this picture.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...mmm-mmm-v2.jpg

Sorry if i'm a noob bit i really dont see tehre i could plug this 3 fork thinghy
plug the usb cord into that little chip looking thing, then connect that to where the plug goes into the reciever from the MMM. but make sure your connecting it right
BSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:51 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trdsupra88
Default

You plug the balck wire into the USB port on the computer, the Link(chip with 3 prongs) plugs into the black wire and the ESC wire that comes from the ESC that you usually plug into the receiver...
__________________
I cut my own hair ☆
trdsupra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:52 PM   #4
BSS
Tech Addict
 
BSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trdsupra88 View Post
You plug the balck wire into the USB port on the computer, the Link(chip with 3 prongs) plugs into the black wire and the ESC wire that comes from the ESC that you usually plug into the receiver...
beet ya to it
BSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 07:03 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trdsupra88 View Post
You plug the balck wire into the USB port on the computer, the Link(chip with 3 prongs) plugs into the black wire and the ESC wire that comes from the ESC that you usually plug into the receiver...
Ahhhh i was confuse . I never used a Esc taht you can plug into pc and i saw a mamba max pro pic and got consued . Thx
mondenet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 07:08 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trdsupra88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSS View Post
beet ya to it
By a C-hair
Quote:
Originally Posted by mondenet View Post
Ahhhh i was confuse . I never used a Esc taht you can plug into pc and i saw a mamba max pro pic and got consued . Thx
Im not sure where you can get the Y-harness but if you plan on tuning a ton, it will allow you to without constantly unplugging and plugging the wire from the receiver...
__________________
I cut my own hair ☆
trdsupra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 07:12 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trdsupra88 View Post
By a C-hair


Im not sure where you can get the Y-harness but if you plan on tuning a ton, it will allow you to without constantly unplugging and plugging the wire from the receiver...
I could make one with a olds Esc part. good idea
mondenet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 07:16 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I guess you're getting ready to update your V2 MMM with the latest firmware and thats def needed. There were some case issues with the V2 about rubbing PCB on the inside of the case. The V3 case was modified to correct this. You can get a V3 case via Castle.

I sent a NIB V2 back to have it replaced with a V3, but I had a MMM Combo on hand to use while I wait for it to come back. The Combo supplies the lead for the link so its ready to just plug in and program.

Not sure I could have waited if I didn't have another to use.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 08:58 PM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
ballz6spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Does programming make a big difference. Mine runs really well right out of the box. Im running NimH at the moment. when I go Lipo i will definitely set the min batt power shut off.
ballz6spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:49 PM   #10
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,402
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

If its fine the way it is. I'd just leave it. I had to adjust my MMM because my buggy was doing wheelies everytime I punched the throttle. It would also lock up my brakes as soon as I tapped the brakes. So I turned down brakes to 30%, punch control from 0% to 20%. Also adjusted the throttle curve to make it easier to drive on looser stuff.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 04:28 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fullerton, california
Posts: 496
Default

Does using the brakes use power? i.e. drag brake?
Thopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:10 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vine Grove, KY
Posts: 228
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thopper View Post
Does using the brakes use power? i.e. drag brake?
The brakes are regenerative and actually put a small amount of charge back into your batteries. They do not consume power. The MMM is a great piece of equipment and I suspect you'll be very happy with it.
richard.bratton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:25 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Jube's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard.bratton View Post
The brakes are regenerative and actually put a small amount of charge back into your batteries. They do not consume power. The MMM is a great piece of equipment and I suspect you'll be very happy with it.
I posted this in the 1/8 E conversion thread this past week.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Marzac2
Can you show me these posts? I have kept a close eye out at RC Monster for these manufacturers to come out with their stance on this issue. I must have missed their posts where they confirmed this.

I called Tech at CC today on this subject because of the thread and my own questions and this is what I was told in a nutshell....On brake the motor does create a certain amout of energy back into the system WHICH is basically being used to do the braking. If there isnt enough energy being created by the braking to energize the esc braking then the extra amount is then pulled from the pack.


So I guess it does generate power and in certain situations (hard braking) it also consumes from the pack.
__________________
__________________
Jubal Dike
X-Factory www.xfactoryrc.com | Tekin www.teamtekin.com | Panther Tires www.panthertires.com | DE Racing www.deracing.net | Avid www.avidrc.com | Coyote Hobbies www.coyotehobbies.com | 411 Graphics
Jube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18837 11-05-2017 05:29 AM
Sydney Model Autosports Inc [smaracing.org] The Ideas Man Australian Racing 25432 10-18-2017 12:09 AM
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
The Best Electric MBX6 MBX5T Hyperion, Motors, Polyquest, M11, MMM + RTR nitro mbx5 WALZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 06-12-2009 02:09 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net