Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated SC8E Thread >

Team Associated SC8E Thread

Team Associated SC8E Thread

Old 02-01-2013, 03:29 PM
  #646  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
northkona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FNQ Australia
Posts: 365
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Good tips, I have also found with 4wd SC keeping the gas on just a touch in the air (not fully backing off the throttle on the jump face) keeps them level. Just remember to be off the gas on landing so you dont stress the drivetrain.
northkona is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 10:10 PM
  #647  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, i just picked up a used BullyDog version of the SC8 with a RCMonster conversion kit on it. Looks basically stock other than that.

Are there any must do upgrades for durability on these? I'm not planning on racing just bashing around.

Going to do a pretty much complete tear down to clean everything up, relube etc.. Figure its a good time to get my hands on anything that should be replaced.
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated SC8E Thread-2013-02-03-13.29.43.jpg   Team Associated SC8E Thread-2013-02-03-13.29.51.jpg   Team Associated SC8E Thread-2013-02-03-13.30.03.jpg   Team Associated SC8E Thread-2013-02-03-13.30.38.jpg   Team Associated SC8E Thread-2013-02-03-13.30.49.jpg  

Monteman is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 10:46 PM
  #648  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
t3gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Those look like the old 14mm shocks....I'd upgrade to the FT 16mm Big Bore Shocks and get a T-Bone front bumper for starters...
t3gt is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:08 PM
  #649  
Tech Master
iTrader: (48)
 
robcamj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Haines City, FL
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Thinking about turning my RC8Te into a SC8e. Has anyone done this? Are the shocks the same?
robcamj is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:58 PM
  #650  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
*JayVee*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 2,452
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robcamj View Post
Thinking about turning my RC8Te into a SC8e. Has anyone done this? Are the shocks the same?
Been done a lot of times... same chassis but different shocks. Most everything else is matched with the rc8be rather then the rc8te.
*JayVee* is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 05:11 PM
  #651  
Tech Master
iTrader: (48)
 
robcamj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Haines City, FL
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by *JayVee* View Post
Been done a lot of times... same chassis but different shocks. Most everything else is matched with the rc8be rather then the rc8te.
Thanks! Shocks drive the cost up a bunch. I will probably just look for a used roller.
robcamj is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 05:36 PM
  #652  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
*JayVee*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 2,452
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robcamj View Post
Thanks! Shocks drive the cost up a bunch. I will probably just look for a used roller.
Easily by $60-75 alone in just the shocks. That is a pretty significant percent of a used roller as u mentioned. Not counting or factoring in any additional parts such as A arms different wheels and tires... another easy $50+ So I think you have already figured out the best option...lol
*JayVee* is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 06:43 PM
  #653  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
t3gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Yea, it's a lot easier to convert an RC8 to SC8 than it is to go from RC8T to SC8....the SC8 is mostly buggy, only sharing a few parts with the truggy: chassis, mudguards, Center CVAs and tank (If ya run nitro)...you would probably be better off getting a used roller...I've seen a few on here and on ebay from time to time.....good luck man.
t3gt is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 09:45 PM
  #654  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 102
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Monteman View Post
Hey guys, i just picked up a used BullyDog version of the SC8 with a RCMonster conversion kit on it. Looks basically stock other than that.

Are there any must do upgrades for durability on these? I'm not planning on racing just bashing around.

Going to do a pretty much complete tear down to clean everything up, relube etc.. Figure its a good time to get my hands on anything that should be replaced.
You don't need to do anything, (un?)fortunately.
SC8E is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 01:57 AM
  #655  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
*JayVee*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 2,452
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SC8E View Post
You don't need to do anything, (un?)fortunately.
My same thoughts... I know personally, I am one who looks for the next best mod before even powering one battery through a rig. But as SC8E said, this is a really well built put together rig already. I think doing a clean sweep as u said u will be doing is just fine
*JayVee* is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 06:20 AM
  #656  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
t3gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

You guys are right, the SC8e is a Bad-Ass truck that doesn't need much to make it better....I only mentioned the Big Bores because his looks like the 14mm shocks....I know it made a world of difference when I made that upgrade on my Nitro....the SC8e comes with the Big Bores, so no need to upgrade them if you have that....the ONLY weak thing on this truck is the FRONT BUMPER....it looks great, but it sucks because it'll break on the first hit, and it doesn't have to be a hard hit....T-Bone Front bumper takes care of that though....PROBLEM SOLVED!!
t3gt is offline  
Old 02-16-2013, 07:40 PM
  #657  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vista, Ca.
Posts: 1,734
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Thumbs up T- Bone for SC8...................

Originally Posted by t3gt View Post
You guys are right, the SC8e is a Bad-Ass truck that doesn't need much to make it better....I only mentioned the Big Bores because his looks like the 14mm shocks....I know it made a world of difference when I made that upgrade on my Nitro....the SC8e comes with the Big Bores, so no need to upgrade them if you have that....the ONLY weak thing on this truck is the FRONT BUMPER....it looks great, but it sucks because it'll break on the first hit, and it doesn't have to be a hard hit....T-Bone Front bumper takes care of that though....PROBLEM SOLVED!!
Just................. .................................................. .................................................. .........

Last edited by Big Trol; 02-17-2013 at 06:50 PM. Reason: apparently no interest............................................
Big Trol is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 08:27 AM
  #658  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
t3gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Finally got my GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition camera and made my first RC video with it. This one was shot for Super Slow-Mo....MUCH BETTER than my old JVC. Check it out!!....:thumb:

RC FUN SLO-MO TEST - SC8e & SC10 - YouTube
t3gt is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 05:21 PM
  #659  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
*JayVee*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 2,452
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by t3gt View Post
Finally got my GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition camera and made my first RC video with it. This one was shot for Super Slow-Mo....MUCH BETTER than my old JVC. Check it out!!....:thumb:

RC FUN SLO-MO TEST - SC8e & SC10 - YouTube
very cool vid...Looked fun!
*JayVee* is offline  
Old 03-18-2013, 12:31 PM
  #660  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: arizona
Posts: 6
Default

Just got my refurb sc8.2e.. looks brand new, cant even tell. I used to have the original and 2nd drive out of the box i had to send my esc back. Im hoping this setup works better. Havent heard much about the reedy stuff. I dont have a charger or batterys yet so hopefully it works good.
ryeinn44 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.