Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated RC8Te Thread >

Team Associated RC8Te Thread

Team Associated RC8Te Thread

Old 02-27-2012, 07:56 AM
  #466  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
boudin4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,943
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default RC8.2T mentioned on rcinsider

here it is a direct quote;

Finally, in 1:8 Pro Truck Team Associated’s Ryan Maifield put in two solid qualifiers in Q2 and Q3 giving him the overall TQ heading into Saturday’s 1:8 Pro Truck Main… We spoke with Ryan before his Q2 run he told us he was going to run JConcepts Blue Hybrids for that round… It seemed to do the trick, the RC8.2T was hooked to the track…!
boudin4evr is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 08:24 AM
  #467  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by boudin4evr
here it is a direct quote;

Finally, in 1:8 Pro Truck Team Associated’s Ryan Maifield put in two solid qualifiers in Q2 and Q3 giving him the overall TQ heading into Saturday’s 1:8 Pro Truck Main… We spoke with Ryan before his Q2 run he told us he was going to run JConcepts Blue Hybrids for that round… It seemed to do the trick, the RC8.2T was hooked to the track…!

Hum sounding good! Looks like associated is listening to us.
Man Ryan is on a roll!
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 01:19 PM
  #468  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by kroggs
For those running the AE conversion are you cutting the battery tray to allow the bigger packs to fit and relocating the speed controller? I was thinking of doing the low KV high voltage setup and need more tray space if I'm measuring right...


Well a guy i race with had to mod his battery tray on his im guessing he had to ethier file it down inside or cut it to fit a bigger 4s lipo like a 8000mah. Inless you want to have the lipo sitting on its side which i dont remmend because it will affect your handling ! Im still shakeing my head on why, Assoicated made a battery tray for a 1/8 scale conversion and made it to fit only up to a 4s 5000mah lipo I have a Tekno conversion kit now for my Rc8t and the tray is much bigger im not sure if you can use it on the Associated conversion kit or not. I dont think you can relocate the Esc anywhere else on the chassis .

Hum the lower KV motor/higher volt battery that is smaller my work maybe.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:10 PM
  #469  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,988
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

4s is the only thing you can use for ROAR legal races... right? Thats prolly why AE made the battery box as they did.

I will eventually flip my motor mount so the motor is opposite the servo, and run split packs in the back (done in a few chassis earlier on in this thread). Two modded AE battery trays would let you run 4s x 2 but run in parallel so you increase run time... not voltage. Anyone for 12,000mah?
DaveW is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:25 PM
  #470  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by DaveW
4s is the only thing you can use for ROAR legal races... right? Thats prolly why AE made the battery box as they did.

I will eventually flip my motor mount so the motor is opposite the servo, and run split packs in the back (done in a few chassis earlier on in this thread). Two modded AE battery trays would let you run 4s x 2 but run in parallel so you increase run time... not voltage. Anyone for 12,000mah?

Thats true acutally but you cant get away with running a 4s 5000mah in a main inless you only race with E-truggy and not nitro truggys. But yea you can run a larger mah 4s but you have to sit it on its side which will affect handling.

I was always thinking about the saddle pack idea on the RC8T conversion but i already bought a Tekno V4 kit.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:34 PM
  #471  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,988
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How long are the nitro mains? Im getting just over 20 strong minutes out of my 5000mah packs.

I really wanna do the split pack conversion. One thing at a time though... lol
DaveW is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:35 PM
  #472  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

What rc8t 8.2 were show pics if any
Zangetsu is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:37 PM
  #473  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,988
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Zangetsu
What rc8t 8.2 were show pics if any
What?
DaveW is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:44 PM
  #474  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by DaveW
How long are the nitro mains? Im getting just over 20 strong minutes out of my 5000mah packs.

I really wanna do the split pack conversion. One thing at a time though... lol

20min nitro mains yes what motor are you running to get that runtime inless your really turning down the throttle EPA ?
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:52 PM
  #475  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,988
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tc5 man
20min nitro mains yes what motor are you running to get that runtime inless your really turning down the throttle EPA ?
T8 2000kv truggy motor and RX8 speedo (geared 50/16). I only have -2 on my throttle EXPO and EPA is 100%... the rest is done with Hotwire.

I rarely need to peg the throttle and can easily clear any jump.
DaveW is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 03:01 PM
  #476  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by DaveW
T8 2000kv truggy motor and RX8 speedo (geared 50/16). I only have -2 on my throttle EXPO and EPA is 100%... the rest is done with Hotwire.

I rarely need to peg the throttle and can easily clear any jump.

Oh ok yea im really looking at trying the 2000kv motor insend of the 2200kv motor. I forgot to say i do run a Mamba monster esc thats sensoredless so you know its not the smoothest thing around But i could fix that by messing with the settings on the computer.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 03:09 PM
  #477  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

This one I was talking about tc5


QUOTE=boudin4evr;10389143]here it is a direct quote;

Finally, in 1:8 Pro Truck Team Associated’s Ryan Maifield put in two solid qualifiers in Q2 and Q3 giving him the overall TQ heading into Saturday’s 1:8 Pro Truck Main… We spoke with Ryan before his Q2 run he told us he was going to run JConcepts Blue Hybrids for that round… It seemed to do the trick, the RC8.2T was hooked to the track…![/QUOTE]
Zangetsu is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 03:12 PM
  #478  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,988
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I havent used a Mamba... so dunno anything about it. But i DO know im really impressed with the RX8 thus far.

It seems more than a few feel the T8 2000kv motor isnt enough. If we had a 200' straight on a hot day i might could agree. The amount of gear i would need would overheat the motor.

Our track doesnt really have a straight though... its more like a looooong sweeper. lol The track used to be a clay oval, so as soon as you peg the throttle, youre back to part throttle to hold your line, and then into a left handed switchback into the infield.

I mean... i could do a 360 back flip if i wanted... just nail the throttle. They dont win races tho...
DaveW is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 07:58 PM
  #479  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,931
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

if rc8t.2e truggy come out then i would buy one .
taztal3 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 08:07 PM
  #480  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by taztal3
if rc8t.2e truggy come out then i would buy one .

If its true it whouldnt be a whole new RC8T just a upgraded kit from the RC8B.2 . I heard you can use the B-plate and the alum steering post and the lighten diff outdrives.
tc5 man is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.