Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated RC8Te Thread >

Team Associated RC8Te Thread

Team Associated RC8Te Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 07:15 AM
  #196  
Tech Adept
 
prdmetalworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fulton, NY
Posts: 209
Default

Originally Posted by JSR
so what advantage do the FT ones offer? Is the upgrade mostly aesthetic then?

Thanks.
I dont have one yet, but race with many guys that do. I think I heard somthing about the hinge pins going farther into the factory team parts. In a hard hit, the stock parts (or chassis) flex enough to let the pins pop out. Just hear say - someone correct me if I am wrong
prdmetalworks is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 08:22 AM
  #197  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
CRCDUDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,093
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Dual lipo setup

I had a friend of mine tip me off to the dual pack setup back in December and made mine from all AE parts. Very easy to do, and IMO is the only way to run a "E" truggy.
Also, for those who run Nitro, the setup is a variation of the "Shane Racer" (Truggy) and works awesome with either Lipo or Nitro only thing I do different is swap the diffs from 5/7/2( nitro) to a 10/10/5 (lipo)
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated RC8Te Thread-img_0454.jpg   Team Associated RC8Te Thread-img_0455.jpg   Team Associated RC8Te Thread-img_0457.jpg   Team Associated RC8Te Thread-img_0458.jpg  
CRCDUDE is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:17 AM
  #198  
Tech Adept
 
prdmetalworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fulton, NY
Posts: 209
Default

Anyone hear anything on when the factory team truggy will be out? I've been waiting to get one, but am getting impatient watching all the etruggies beat up on the nitro's at my track. I have looked into the Caster electric truggy, but I'm not sure if they will catch on, so probably no parts support where I race.
prdmetalworks is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:51 PM
  #199  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 139
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Just ordered my conversion kit....

Need to get a combo now. Hobbyking is currently sold out of their 1/8th scale combo.
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...em_2350Kv/150A



Can anybody comment on this?
http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/rc-bru...cPath=293_1301
funkhouser is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 08:57 PM
  #200  
Tech Addict
 
Mini-Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santa Rosa,CA
Posts: 578
Default

What is a good motor size for a RC8Te? I just got one and I don't know what is a good motor size. I've been racing for a while so I can handle the size of the motor.
Mini-Mod is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 09:25 PM
  #201  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Cmjomaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 244
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

This RC8Te is my first full build. I have done a few conversions, but this is the first full build. Builds real easy and fun, just a few questions. I have filled all three diffs with the stock 7k fluid but they all seem to act different. The front turns real easy, the rear seems harder and the center real hard to turn by the out drives. Would more or less fluid effect the performance in that way?

The only other issues was with the factory blue front shock tower. I got it off eBay and they did not include any of the hardware. There is susposed to be a small spacer which fits between the front and back diff housing on the top. Any ideas of what someone could use in place of that piece?
Cmjomaha is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 10:24 PM
  #202  
Dan
Tech Champion
iTrader: (76)
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,400
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Anyone try the O'Donnell big bore truggy shocks? They're only $60 for a set and include various springs. Just curious if they fit any good.
Dan is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 07:42 AM
  #203  
JSR
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,044
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I will be trying the O'Donnell shocks once I pick up a RC8Te. I haven't been able to find the lengths of the O'Donnells, so I'm hoping they'll fit right.
JSR is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 08:22 AM
  #204  
Tech Adept
 
prdmetalworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fulton, NY
Posts: 209
Default

Originally Posted by Mini-Mod
What is a good motor size for a RC8Te? I just got one and I don't know what is a good motor size. I've been racing for a while so I can handle the size of the motor.
Combo's that seem to work good on most tracks are 1550 kv with 6S (best IMO), or a 2000 kv on 4S.
prdmetalworks is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:31 AM
  #205  
Tech Master
iTrader: (80)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,955
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know if you can buy the sealed receiver box separately from the e-conversion? I have started to get my parts in for my conversion and figuring out how I want to mount everything onto a stock RC8T chassis. Going to be running the following setup:

Battery: Dual 4s Hyperian 5000mA in parallel (need the amperage for 10 minute mains)
Motor: Tekin T8 2000 kV
ESC: LRP SPX8
Battery Tray: Tecno RC V3 Battery Trays (one on each side of rear chassis brace)
Steering Servo: Futaba BL451
Motor Mount: EliteRC (will probably have to raise the center diff a little with spacers for center spur clearance)

Notes:
- Will probably need to run a 4s BEC since the SPX8's internal BEC is limited to 2s. Or would need to run a receiver battery pack.

Hopefully get everything mounted this week for a test run/race on Sunday.

Chirag
cpatel529 is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:41 AM
  #206  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

tower hobbies is selling it http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXXLY7&P=0
and with the bec make sure u only have 7.4v going to it or it will fry, i did that with mine. u can tap off from ur balancing tap
madmikegxp is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:43 AM
  #207  
Tech Master
iTrader: (80)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,955
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by madmikegxp
Thanks! If I was to run a separate 7.4 LIPO or 6.6 LIFE battery pack for my receiver, would it fit in this tray along with the receiver? If so, will it accommodate stick pack or hump?

Chirag
cpatel529 is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:46 AM
  #208  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

u wont be able to fit any kind of battery in the receiver box. its just big enough for the receiver
madmikegxp is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:47 AM
  #209  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

what batteries do u plan on running. never mind noticed what batteries. what u can do is ohm out the balance tap and build a tap the plugs into that and run it that way
madmikegxp is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:52 AM
  #210  
Tech Master
iTrader: (80)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,955
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by madmikegxp
what batteries do u plan on running. never mind noticed what batteries. what u can do is ohm out the balance tap and build a tap the plugs into that and run it that way
That was an option for my 4s battery that I was thinking. But I had read that people are having issues with their batteries being out of balance due to drawing current from only 1 of the cells. I dont know if that will be a problem since if you use a balancer to re-charge your batteries they should come back to normal, correct?

Hoping I dont have to do this external battery but I want to look at all my options. Are you running the positive 7.4V from the balancer to the wire of the SPX8?
cpatel529 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.