R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2009, 02:06 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Charging 2 LiPo batteries at once...

If I have two identical batteries, let's say two Orion 7.4 volt 3400 20Cs, and a charger that is capable of charging a 4S LiPo, couldn't I hook the two 2S batteries together and charge them as if they were a single 4S. I'm not sure if they would need to be hooked up as a 7.4v 6800 battery or as a 14.8v 3400 though.

Of course, they would need to be balanced charged each time since their voltage will most certainly always be different.

Does this seem like a viable way to make better use of charger time?
CraigV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 02:25 PM   #2
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,552
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

this is possible. YOu will need to create your own balance Y adapter. I believe Reedy is going to come out with there own Y adapter. 2 other manufacturers I asked about it however would not make one do to liability issues they stated.

Push comes to shove, if you are not comfortable with an adapter, go with the Hyperion Duo (version 1 or 2, with v1 being cheaper to buy). It will balance charge lipos together as one pack.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 02:32 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Unless you use the packs together in a single vehicle, balance charging them together could take just as long as if you charged them separately. Most Lipo balancers can take a long time to correct a severe mismatch.

The Hyperion Duo or two dedicated chargers is a much better option.
Linkdead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 07:33 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

This will give you an idea of what you'r elooking at to make that happen -

http://www.rbgrn.net/blog/2008/07/ho...ngle-6s1p.html
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net