R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Novak GTB Braking

On my xxx-t CR's GTB spektrum enhanced ESC it seems that the brake is like an on off switch. When the brake is applied ever so slightly it throws the cars ass end out because of too much braking power.

I have read the manual and I see a setting that will increase the intial pulse%, and I don't think that is what I'm looking for. I want it to slowly add brake as I apply it. I tried adding positive expo on my DX3R and that did not seem to help.

This electric stuff is new to me. Can someone help me understand how to adjust braking on a GTB ESC with a 10.5 motor?

Thank You!
desertbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 11:04 AM   #2
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

You can direct your technical or application questions to [email protected].
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 11:59 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

OK..... Thanks....

I thought someone on this forum would have some experience with this ESC and be able to tell me how to achieve softer braking power. I'm a nitro guy getting into electric again.... I can tune my brake on my nitro stuff so that the brakes don't apply so much pressure that it makes my car uncontrolable under braking, after reading the manual don't see that I can do it with this electric stuff.
desertbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:04 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Gliptal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 258
Default

I run the setup on the GTB with the endpoints on the radio set to full then turn the break (endpoint on the radio) down to around 20% for 2wd.
Gliptal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:08 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gliptal View Post
I run the setup on the GTB with the endpoints on the radio set to full then turn the break (endpoint on the radio) down to around 20% for 2wd.
Ditto, this is much easier than trying to program the ESC. You can also work some expo into it, and make it "feel" better.
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:10 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

OK, I re-read the manual. I thought default was at the minimum brake%.

Apparently I can lower it.

As the manual states:
"The amount of braking applied with the first pulse of transmitter throttle information. Raising this setting starts the braking at a stronger/higher level."

I guess this is the setting I need to play with.

Ugghhhhhhh, so much to read my brain is spewing gray matter and not picking up things

Proceed.....
desertbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:14 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R40Victim View Post
Ditto, this is much easier than trying to program the ESC. You can also work some expo into it, and make it "feel" better.


Wow, 20% EPA.... I tried bumping it down to like 80% and thought I'd notice something. I'll go A LOT LOWER on EPA and give that a shot before F'ing around with the ESC programming.

Thanks guys!
desertbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:42 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertbird View Post
Wow, 20% EPA.... I tried bumping it down to like 80% and thought I'd notice something. I'll go A LOT LOWER on EPA and give that a shot before F'ing around with the ESC programming.

Thanks guys!
Yup, leave that crap alone, no need to frustrate yourself. I use EPA on all my cars to adjust brakes, and limit the throttle as needed. There was a silly rumor floating around that doing so would damage the ESC... If that were the case, I'd have 2 dozen fried ESCs...
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:09 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hey thanks for your help. One more question for ya if you don't mind. I see the default has 9% drag brake. Are you running that?
desertbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:40 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Teflon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

__________________
Sponsored by: HOBBY-PRO USA, VP-PRO, UPGRADE RC
Teflon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:47 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertbird View Post
Hey thanks for your help. One more question for ya if you don't mind. I see the default has 9% drag brake. Are you running that?
I left mine at default, but if I had the opportunity, I'd change it to zero. I want to control the brakes, not the ESC.
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 05:13 PM   #12
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertbird View Post
Wow, 20% EPA.... I tried bumping it down to like 80% and thought I'd notice something. I'll go A LOT LOWER on EPA and give that a shot before F'ing around with the ESC programming.

Thanks guys!
Perhaps you are already doing it this way, but if not: Suggest leaving the EPA at 100%. Then use button E, the middle thumb button, to reduce/adjust the brake as needed per track conditions & driving style. It will show up on the main screen as the bottom slider graphic BR.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:50 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
C Reedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Default

So i have noticed that everyone elses cars brake a lot faster and stronger than mine so i went though and did all that you guys said to do but none of it worked... Then i finally realized that on my controller there is a brake dead band and not just a throttle dead band. So i moved that up and wow!!!! my car stops on a dime. So if anyone is having issues this might be the problem
__________________
FT Associated B44 with Novak GTB 6.5r and 3200 Trakpower lipo
C Reedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 08:05 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Perhaps you are already doing it this way, but if not: Suggest leaving the EPA at 100%. Then use button E, the middle thumb button, to reduce/adjust the brake as needed per track conditions & driving style. It will show up on the main screen as the bottom slider graphic BR.
This is a transmitter setting... Not everyone has that on their controller
__________________
"So where do I adjust the vtec crossover in the ESC?"
tazeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pantoura, 1/10 Pan Car, 2S LiPo, Brushless, Tips and Tricks. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 2178 12-01-2010 11:26 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
IMPORTANT: New Product Arrival Alert! (December 2008) rcmart rcMart.com Mega Online R/C Marketplace 55 01-01-2009 07:35 PM
F/S novak gtb w/13.5 pro stock motor NEW esridge R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 07-02-2008 07:52 PM
Novak Pro Racing Brushless Systems Drift_Buggy Electric On-Road 13 02-10-2007 11:50 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net