R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2009, 01:23 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: las vegas
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Laptop power supply 120w max would work with turnigy accucel-6?

Iam thinking about getting the Turnigy Accucel-6 50W 5A Balancer/Charger i know i need a power supply is there anyway i can use my old power supply from my laptop its a 120w max. If so what would i have to do
vito357si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 02:24 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito357si View Post
Iam thinking about getting the Turnigy Accucel-6 50W 5A Balancer/Charger i know i need a power supply is there anyway i can use my old power supply from my laptop its a 120w max. If so what would i have to do

I don't see why not? the laptop PS puts out 8A, the Turnigy only pulls 5A max. I would just check the output voltage of the power supply first, as the Turnigy states it can handle up to 18V, and the PS shows up to 24V


I have 2 of these chargers, they work nice....
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 02:53 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: las vegas
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

thaxs for the info y2kgtp i just checked the volts and its showing 19.92v is that good or to much?
vito357si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 02:55 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito357si View Post
thaxs for the info y2kgtp i just checked the volts and its showing 19.92v is that good or to much?
That might be pushing it a bit as it says up to 18v in the users manual of the charger. You might be best off getting a dedicated 12V Power supply, or computer power supply and make your own off the 12v rail.
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 02:59 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: las vegas
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

okies thaxs one more thing can i use a car battery i have a car battery charger 200amp and 40amp to charge somthing like that if i would charge the battery to full then use the turnigy accucel-6 on there to chard say 2 s2 5000mah lipos would the battery be able to charge them both before it would have to be recharged.
vito357si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:08 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito357si View Post
okies thaxs one more thing can i use a car battery i have a car battery charger 200amp and 40amp to charge somthing like that if i would charge the battery to full then use the turnigy accucel-6 on there to chard say 2 s2 5000mah lipos would the battery be able to charge them both before it would have to be recharged.
Just to clarify....you have a car battery, out of a car....and you have a charger to charge the car battery?

I don't see why not. I just would not hook up the car battery charger to charge it while you were also charging the RC battery.

This just would not be too convenient to take to a track all the time
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:16 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: las vegas
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

hehe okies what power supply do you use?
vito357si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:23 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito357si View Post
hehe okies what power supply do you use?
I have a couple old Radio Shack 10A power supplies, but they are large and HEAVY. I have been eying this for a bit, as it is only about a pound, and much more compact for going to the track:

currently out of Stock....
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/5172
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net