R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2009, 09:16 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Power supply?

Anyone use this brand or model?
http://www.etronics.com/p-23889-pyra...er-supply.aspx

My computer power supply worked good with one battery on my duo but with 2 and not big batteries I'm losing voltage quick. The charger started complaining.

There are also some on ebay 24v 25A or 14.5 amp models

http://cgi.ebay.com/Mean-Well-SE-600...3A1|240%3A1318

This is a used one but they have new ones also. Everything is on a terminal block though, not as neat as banana jacks.
__________________
8ight, Losi Conversion, Tekno Neu 1512/3D/F, NeuEnergy 5S 4300, MMMv3, 15/45 Gearing
Speed_Freak_039 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:18 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
bradfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SRS,Az
Posts: 752
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

To boost your voltage on the cpu supply, you need to use a lower ohm power resistor over the 5v to ground line.

go from the typical 10ohms to 1 ohm, but make sure the resistor can handle it.

It will boost your voltages a ton. Mine went from like 10.5 under load to like 11.8 under load.

Other typical ones are pyramid supplies if you wanna try that
__________________
8ight-E 2.0, Tekin RX8 1350-T, 13/46, 6s zippy/neu power, fut. 4pk
bradfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:21 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I have used that weekly for about 2 years and traveling to away races 10-12 times a year. i have run 6 chargers off it too.

http://store.buyreliant.com/servlet/Categories
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:25 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradfox2 View Post
To boost your voltage on the cpu supply, you need to use a lower ohm power resistor over the 5v to ground line.

go from the typical 10ohms to 1 ohm, but make sure the resistor can handle it.

It will boost your voltages a ton. Mine went from like 10.5 under load to like 11.8 under load.

Other typical ones are pyramid supplies if you wanna try that
Im guess thats the green and black I shorted together to make it run?

Otherwise all the other wires are cut short and taped up. I took all the 12v rail and a bunch of blacks to make my output leads.
__________________
8ight, Losi Conversion, Tekno Neu 1512/3D/F, NeuEnergy 5S 4300, MMMv3, 15/45 Gearing
Speed_Freak_039 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:38 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
bradfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SRS,Az
Posts: 752
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed_Freak_039 View Post
Im guess thats the green and black I shorted together to make it run?

Otherwise all the other wires are cut short and taped up. I took all the 12v rail and a bunch of blacks to make my output leads.


The green and black is the wires that act as the on switch, they have to be shorted for the supply to turn on.

The 5v is a red wire, if you didnt add some kind of power resistor across it, thats y your volts are so low. snip a black wire off your output and grab a red one and connect it to each side of one of these.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062291


or just buy the pyramid and save the work. If you wanna stay cheap do the cpu supply and its not bad i have been using charging dual 6s packs at 3+amps for a while.
__________________
8ight-E 2.0, Tekin RX8 1350-T, 13/46, 6s zippy/neu power, fut. 4pk
bradfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:47 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Thankx so much man. The computer PSUs have a high output for the money. I just got to get the voltage up. Mines a 20 on the 12v rail.

So I can use any of the reds? They are all 5v? I could check but I dont have my meter one me at the moment. Thats about the batteries I will be charging. I have 5S 4300 or 6S 3900. So.

With my 5S 4300 and a 3S 2200 Im dropping voltage like a rock.
__________________
8ight, Losi Conversion, Tekno Neu 1512/3D/F, NeuEnergy 5S 4300, MMMv3, 15/45 Gearing
Speed_Freak_039 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:01 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 2 (67%+)
Default

yellows are 12v, reds are 5v, and blacks are ground on a standard PS. I just gathered all my yellows, twisted, all the reds twisted, and then split my blacks into two groups. So not I have 4 sets of twisted wires, one pair for 12v use and one for 5v use.

I ended up pluging in a old HDD to get my voltage up on the 12V rail, worked great. Luckily I found a cheapo 20 dollar supply that does not require any load on the 5v rail to keep the 12v above 11.6. GL
__________________
HopMeUp is my friend, RcBoyz is the devil.

8ight losi conv MMM 4s Neu 1.5d
8T losi conv MMM 5s Medusa 60-1600-v2
E-revo MMM 4s Feigao 9xl
losi baja lst2 mamba25
xray m18 MM pro combo
Slash VXL
Rusty VXL
Pede VXL
sampson0420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:03 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,322
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

the circuit board is usually labeled 5 v and 12 v, take a look.
__________________
Doug Lightcap

ARCS Hobbies / Paint Monster Airbrushing / BFast / Tonys Screws
badassrevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:19 AM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RB FIVE View Post
I have used that weekly for about 2 years and traveling to away races 10-12 times a year. i have run 6 chargers off it too.

http://store.buyreliant.com/servlet/Categories
Your link doesn't bring up anything like you describe. I think I know where you were going anad would be interested in knowing which power supply you were trying to link? A Pyramid?
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:39 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duster_360 View Post
Your link doesn't bring up anything like you describe. I think I know where you were going anad would be interested in knowing which power supply you were trying to link? A Pyramid?
yea same one just different price. psv 300
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:47 AM   #11
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Cool, thanks!
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 01:08 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 182
Default

I used the Pryamid one for about a year now. The most I got out of it was 25amps @ 13.8volt. I have heard that if I attach a bigger CAP to it...it can output more juice.
chumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 01:27 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
bradfox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SRS,Az
Posts: 752
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed_Freak_039 View Post
Thankx so much man. The computer PSUs have a high output for the money. I just got to get the voltage up. Mines a 20 on the 12v rail.

So I can use any of the reds? They are all 5v? I could check but I dont have my meter one me at the moment. Thats about the batteries I will be charging. I have 5S 4300 or 6S 3900. So.

With my 5S 4300 and a 3S 2200 Im dropping voltage like a rock.


Yea all the reds are a 5v line. Just one red to each end of a power resistor. If you have a real electronics shop nearby, go there and get a 1 ohm 50 + watt power resisitor and use that. Radioshack wont have that kind of thing. Mine looks like a big al. heatsink with a connection tab on each end.

the lower the ohms you go on power resistor the higher the 12v line voltage will be. Just make sure you have one that can dump all the excess power. it goes up as a square so watts thru power reistor goes up fast.
__________________
8ight-E 2.0, Tekin RX8 1350-T, 13/46, 6s zippy/neu power, fut. 4pk
bradfox2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 11:20 PM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
Power Supply, 64p Pinions, Xray FK05 Parts, Soldering Iron, Racing Gear... Nrctc3 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 9 03-15-2006 04:45 PM
Lipo Charger, Power Supply , Tools jc510 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-23-2005 10:43 AM
Power Supplies Marines Electric On-Road 26 06-09-2003 10:02 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net