Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Suggest Lipo for Kyosho ZX5 FS Saddle pack >

Suggest Lipo for Kyosho ZX5 FS Saddle pack

Suggest Lipo for Kyosho ZX5 FS Saddle pack

Reply

Old 02-09-2009, 03:26 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 81
Default Suggest Lipo for Kyosho ZX5 FS Saddle pack

Can anyone suggest a 2 cell, 25C + saddle pack lipo for a Kyosho ZX5-FS.

Thanks in advance
everything_rc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 03:29 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 246
Default

I am using an SMC 28c 4900Mah pack with good results. It needs the battery hold downs raised about 3mm and the body will need to be cut lower to allow room for the crossover wire.
mguebert69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 03:39 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

The new IP4200 30c saddles by Intellect are a perfect fit and a really good price.
B4james is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 04:06 PM
  #4  
Key
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Key's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by B4james View Post
The new IP4200 30c saddles by Intellect are a perfect fit and a really good price.
What about the 2s 30c IP6000's?
Key is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:23 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Key View Post
What about the 2s 30c IP6000's?
I dont know on those ones as they are not legal in Australia with them being over the 5400 limit. A lot of guys were running the 3200 trackpowers with no issues in mod but the 4200's from what I am told are nice.
B4james is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:32 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Not trying to be a smart ass but do you really need a 5000+ mAH packs for these kinds of vehicles? I would think your ESC and Motor would be on the verge of thermalling if you put in such high capacity packs...

I still run a 3300mAH NiMH in my B44 and I still get good performance beyond six minutes...
tom_chang79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 12:01 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
SCD WldCrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 210
Default

Originally Posted by tom_chang79 View Post
Not trying to be a smart ass but do you really need a 5000+ mAH packs for these kinds of vehicles? I would think your ESC and Motor would be on the verge of thermalling if you put in such high capacity packs...

I still run a 3300mAH NiMH in my B44 and I still get good performance beyond six minutes...
Not if they're using brushless system and lipo. They can be run for 15-20 minutes or even longer. And as far as I understand, the capacity of lipo determines how long you can run.
SCD WldCrd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 02:51 AM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 81
Default

Thanks guys,

Just like everyone I was looking for the best fit in the chassis. Now I've got a SP to FS conversion kit on the way, and wanted to have the lipo ready to go.

Thanks Again.
everything_rc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 11:29 AM
  #9  
Key
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Key's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by B4james View Post
I dont know on those ones as they are not legal in Australia with them being over the 5400 limit. A lot of guys were running the 3200 trackpowers with no issues in mod but the 4200's from what I am told are nice.
What is the reason behind limiting Lipo capacity to 5400mah? What made them stumble upon that magic number?
Key is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 03:21 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 180
Default

for tebo's or ronnie garner's car do they run nimh because orion doesn't make saddle packs or is it for some other reason? are lipo saddle packs wired 2s3p for a total of 6 cells
2dialed is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service