R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 02-04-2009, 01:07 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Default First 1/10 buggy - AE B4 vs. AE B44

So while not entirely new to RC (been in it for 2 years), I am new to racing. I have mostly done bashing, crawling, and other activities not requiring a track. My Vendetta TC got me out to a hobby shop with a track (R/C Excitement in Fitchburg, MA), and now I'm interested in driving offroad as well as on their carpet track. They have an indoor dirt track suitable for 1/10 scale buggies and trucks. I have run my Rustler (MM/Medusa) on the track, but it understeers like a '78 Buick, and I'm looking for something that will handle a little better. I was thinking of getting a buggy - a B4 FT or a B44 FT - but can't decide which. Whichever I get will get a MM ESC w/ either a Castle or Medusa motor.

Advantages of the B4
- cheaper
- uses my existing lipo packs
- 2WD is harder to drive than 4WD, so it might be a better vehicle on which to learn

Advantages of the B44
- Newer technology - the B4 has been around forever
- No need to upgrade when/if I want a more competent vehicle

I guess what I'm looking for is the following:

1. I assume the B4 is tougher than the B44, simply because there are fewer parts to break, but then maybe the B44's parts are tougher. Any feedback here? I don't mind wrenching, but all else equal, I'd prefer a vehicle that breaks less to a vehicle that breaks more.
2. My plan is to eventually go to an 8th scale electric buggy - been following the 8th scale electric conversion thread for a while now, and have read all 14,000+/- posts - but I wanted something that would work on the smaller track for now while I learn. The 8th scale would be 4WD, so maybe that argues for getting the 2WD buggy now, to give me experience with both. Thoughts?