Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread >

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Like Tree22Likes

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Old 08-22-2013, 04:58 AM
  #13231  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ridgeracer
Im geared 87/23 and Im using tons of boost and turbo with a 6.5
I had problems with heat before, but after I put a fan on the motor the temp is around 40 degrees celsius/10 min running.
Hey Ridgeracer, how did you mount the fan? Can you post a picture?
TLRrunner is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 06:14 AM
  #13232  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,175
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TLRrunner
Hey Ridgeracer, how did you mount the fan? Can you post a picture?
Just get the hobbywing Xerun 4-pole sensored 4000kv motor, you'll never have to worry about temps or anything more than basic cleaning and swap the bearings as needed depending on the conditions in which you run. Typically I swap bearings 1x per year to be safe
8ight-e is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 06:22 AM
  #13233  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e
Just get the hobbywing Xerun 4-pole sensored 4000kv motor, you'll never have to worry about temps or anything more than basic cleaning and swap the bearings as needed depending on the conditions in which you run. Typically I swap bearings 1x per year to be safe
I usually run all Hobbywing gear, but I couldn't pass up the deal on the motor that I'm using now. Which Hobbywing motor are you referring to the XERUN V10 or the XERUN Sensored Brushless 3656 Motor used for SCT? I think that I might be way under geared, today I'm going to try gearing up and see what effects that has.
TLRrunner is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 07:52 AM
  #13234  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,345
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I'm still figuring out which motor/esc I'm going to use. I like the idea of using the XERUN Sensored Brushless 3656 4 pole motor w/ say the hw 120a esc. I bet the would run cool.
mulepic is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 08:00 AM
  #13235  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mulepic
I'm still figuring out which motor/esc I'm going to use. I like the idea of using the XERUN Sensored Brushless 3656 4 pole motor w/ say the hw 120a esc. I bet the would run cool.
You'll definitely have more than enough power with the 4pole but you gotta think about space. Space is tight in the Dex410v3. Which of the 120a esc are you considering? Not to mention that motor has a 5mm rotor might have a hard time finding a pinion that fits.
TLRrunner is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 08:13 AM
  #13236  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,345
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TLRrunner
You'll definitely have more than enough power with the 4pole but you gotta think about space. Space is tight in the Dex410v3. Which of the 120a esc are you considering? Not to mention that motor has a 5mm rotor might have a hard time finding a pinion that fits.
Good point, I don't have a 5mm 48p pinion. But I do have a cc1406 4000kv 4 pole motor but it is not sensored. I'll just give that a try once I get this battery figured out. Write now the only esc I have to use is a 60a HW. I smoked my 120a but I'll probably get another.
mulepic is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 08:57 AM
  #13237  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mulepic
Good point, I don't have a 5mm 48p pinion. But I do have a cc1406 4000kv 4 pole motor but it is not sensored. I'll just give that a try once I get this battery figured out. Write now the only esc I have to use is a 60a HW. I smoked my 120a but I'll probably get another.
I ran a 1406 in my SCTE for a long time before I got the Hobbywing in it. It was a good motor but it was a different world when I put the right kind of motor in the truck which would be the same situation for the 410.
TLRrunner is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 09:12 AM
  #13238  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,345
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TLRrunner
I ran a 1406 in my SCTE for a long time before I got the Hobbywing in it. It was a good motor but it was a different world when I put the right kind of motor in the truck which would be the same situation for the 410.
I would agree that a 1406 would be anemic for the scte but for the dex410, it should push it w/ no problem. You're not confusing the 1406 (540 sizes) w/ the 1410 or 1415?
mulepic is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 11:01 AM
  #13239  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mulepic
I would agree that a 1406 would be anemic for the scte but for the dex410, it should push it w/ no problem. You're not confusing the 1406 (540 sizes) w/ the 1410 or 1415?
Yea, I remember wanting a 1410 but could never get one cheap enough and the motor coming off a little warmer than most other guys racing with me.
TLRrunner is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 11:06 AM
  #13240  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,175
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

I thought this was the desc410 thread... you don't need 4-pole beasts in the dex410,,, my bad. But yes that new v10 should be pretty awesome... just make sure if it's another brand you run their torque rotors to help keep cool. just an opinion I'm not saying that 4pole wont work though, and it would be very cool as well but will put a lot more stress on the drive train.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 11:54 AM
  #13241  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e
I thought this was the desc410 thread... you don't need 4-pole beasts in the dex410,,, my bad. But yes that new v10 should be pretty awesome... just make sure if it's another brand you run their torque rotors to help keep cool. just an opinion I'm not saying that 4pole wont work though, and it would be very cool as well but will put a lot more stress on the drive train.
The Reedy 5.5 I have in my buggy feels like its a 4pole monster just because there is nothing I can do! just a little bit ago I almost cooked all the electronics 200+. Dialing back motor timing and gearing should give me less wheelspin, more top end and less torque right?
TLRrunner is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 01:21 PM
  #13242  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Woulvesbaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,325
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Any intel on the v4 and whether the v3 can be converted to the new chassis (or whether it's not worth it).
Woulvesbaine is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 02:03 PM
  #13243  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CENCAL
Posts: 2,474
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

You guys need to free up the driveline to keeps the temp down... I'm running 6.5 geared at 87/21 at first temp is always an issue. I noticed the driveline is not free and that will cause heat on the motor. What causing the driveline to bind is the diff case. If you add a middle bearing on the driveline axle and this will free up the driveline with no slap and your driveline will spin more free.
Jochim_18 is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 02:04 PM
  #13244  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CENCAL
Posts: 2,474
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Woulvesbaine
Any intel on the v4 and whether the v3 can be converted to the new chassis (or whether it's not worth it).
Is their a version 4 coming out?
Jochim_18 is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 04:05 PM
  #13245  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norcal
Posts: 789
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jochim_18
Is their a version 4 coming out?
ifmar world coming && v3 on sale,
according to a post in oople, it'll probably be out around November.
nicholasxuu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.