Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread >

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Like Tree22Likes

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Old 10-15-2012, 01:26 PM
  #11221  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Broken drive axles

Originally Posted by boudin4evr
yes I've broken 3 of them! frustrating!
Any fix for this issue? Or are there other brands that are stronger and fit in the dex410?
Borik is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 01:36 PM
  #11222  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Borik
I'm looking into getting the dex410v3. Though I heard the drive axles are weak and have a tendency to break. Is there truth to that, I'm going to be running an LRP esc and reedy 7.5 motor.
I`ve had the 410s since the original and broke one once when I smacked the wall and broke the front arm , which is reasonable . Axles have been fine for me , racing twice a week .
Briguy is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 02:31 PM
  #11223  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I ordered extra frt and rr drive axles as well as frt and rr a-arms...just in case. I pick it up wednesday and start the build. Hopefully have it ready for weekend racing.
Borik is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 03:24 PM
  #11224  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,694
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Boudin4evr
Any fix for this issue? Or are there other brands that are stronger and fit in the dex410?
I have to ask what are you hitting? I too have owned mine for a year and never broke one.
jmackani is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 03:40 PM
  #11225  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tntpower
Where do you install the angle ball cups in the V3 kit? The manual don't show them.

http://www.team-durango.com/part-inf...artNo=TD330293
The manual doesn't specify this, but there are a few extra parts included that are for other kits, this being one of them.
Rob Phillips is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 03:44 PM
  #11226  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (520)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,373
Trader Rating: 520 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Borik
Any fix for this issue? Or are there other brands that are stronger and fit in the dex410?
I broke a couple in my car first few times out and traced it to the output yoke set screw worked loose, and put extra pressure on it. Made sure the locktite I used was red, and haven't had one issue with them since..Most durable 4wd I have ever owned..
flame56mx is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 04:18 PM
  #11227  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default dex410 v3 broken drive axles

Originally Posted by jmackani
I have to ask what are you hitting? I too have owned mine for a year and never broke one.
I haven't broken any. I'm buying the 410v3 and heard the drive axles are a little weak and break. This is my first Durango and was just wondering.
Borik is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 04:20 PM
  #11228  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
Konich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Use some red loctite, and keep them lubed with a little bearing oil will help keep them from binding. Also set the slipper per the manual as well.
Konich is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 05:12 PM
  #11229  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Stealth_RT
Car has plenty of travel with the droop screws installed. I run 21-2mm ride height and full down travel is more than double that. How much down travel do you need? If you remove the droop screws, watch that the dogbones don't pop out of the diff outdrives at full down travel. Also, too much rear droop can cause too much weight transfer to the front wheels off power, and can cause the car to get loose or unstable coming into corners.
I'm just doing a bit of bench tuning and getting to know the car since I can't get to the track right now.

I grabbed Ryan Lutz's setup from the RROC and I noticed that he is running the rear shock lengths at 99mm (center to center mounted), which I'm trying to figure out how he achieved that without removing the droop screws.

Also, is the ackerman plate that comes with the V3 suppose to only have two positions? I noticed that the setup sheets for the previous version has two positions, but the V3 setup sheet has three positions.
Rob Phillips is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 05:29 PM
  #11230  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rob Phillips
I'm just doing a bit of bench tuning and getting to know the car since I can't get to the track right now.

I grabbed Ryan Lutz's setup from the RROC and I noticed that he is running the rear shock lengths at 99mm (center to center mounted), which I'm trying to figure out how he achieved that without removing the droop screws.

Also, is the ackerman plate that comes with the V3 suppose to only have two positions? I noticed that the setup sheets for the previous version has two positions, but the V3 setup sheet has three positions.
Stock ackerman plate has two positions , TD340001 is the optional plate that has three positions .
Briguy is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 06:34 PM
  #11231  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Briguy
Stock ackerman plate has two positions , TD340001 is the optional plate that has three positions .
Thanks for the part number and info. I just wasn't sure if the three hole was suppose to ship with the kit or not since it listed on the setup sheet.

One more question, what are the extra 4 beveled aluminum washers for? Look like they should go behind a wheel hex...
Rob Phillips is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 06:40 PM
  #11232  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rob Phillips
Thanks for the part number and info. I just wasn't sure if the three hole was suppose to ship with the kit or not since it listed on the setup sheet.

One more question, what are the extra 4 beveled aluminum washers for? Look like they should go behind a wheel hex...
The previous versions used the washer behind the pin as the rear were pin drive style . Some reason they were included in the V3 kits .
Briguy is offline  
Old 10-16-2012, 06:50 AM
  #11233  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

That what I was thinking. Thx
Rob Phillips is offline  
Old 10-16-2012, 09:59 AM
  #11234  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rob Phillips
I'm just doing a bit of bench tuning and getting to know the car since I can't get to the track right now.

I grabbed Ryan Lutz's setup from the RROC and I noticed that he is running the rear shock lengths at 99mm (center to center mounted), which I'm trying to figure out how he achieved that without removing the droop screws.

Also, is the ackerman plate that comes with the V3 suppose to only have two positions? I noticed that the setup sheets for the previous version has two positions, but the V3 setup sheet has three positions.
We may have pulled Ryan's droop screws.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Old 10-16-2012, 12:43 PM
  #11235  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Cool, thanks Randy.

I see that the setup calls for the old #2 VR rear block, do you know what that changed?
Rob Phillips is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.