Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread >

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Like Tree22Likes

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Old 05-04-2012, 04:23 AM
  #10261  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
FLHX1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I keep going back and forth on getting a V3 or not, kind of wondering what the "must have" updates are to get the DEX410V3 as bullet proof as you can? I've heard you need the alum center driveshaft hoops / chassis brace but what else?
FLHX1550 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 04:55 AM
  #10262  
Company Representative
iTrader: (25)
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,956
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

rear hoop breaks on very hard belly hits. some tracks this will never be a issue.

arms seem very tough. Rear uprights a spare set is a good idea. rear outer hinge pins.
drive pins ( they can fall out and if you lose a wheel nut you will lose the pin)

Spare front dogbones. Spare ring gear or machined version.

Alloy servo saver a must if you like the servo saver tight.
ammdrew is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 05:36 AM
  #10263  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (56)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 56 (98%+)
Default

Randy - whats the lowest turn motor in this car I can run safely you think on an RS? Have an RS on the shelf, and budget is a bit tight to pick up a pro right now.
jhhack is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 05:55 AM
  #10264  
Tech Regular
 
dexon555's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 382
Default

Originally Posted by jhhack
Randy - whats the lowest turn motor in this car I can run safely you think on an RS? Have an RS on the shelf, and budget is a bit tight to pick up a pro right now.
Pulled directly from Tekin web site.
RS-Motor Limit Brushless Mode: 7.5 Turn, 540 2-pole (36mm)

Why would'nt you check here first?
http://www.teamtekin.com/rs.html
dexon555 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:22 AM
  #10265  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (360)
 
tobamiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tea drinking Limmey in NJ
Posts: 12,396
Trader Rating: 360 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jhhack
Randy - whats the lowest turn motor in this car I can run safely you think on an RS? Have an RS on the shelf, and budget is a bit tight to pick up a pro right now.
I wouldn't run an RS with a low turn motor in this car as you'll likely have heat issues. I'd say 10.5 is the lowest you should go with an RS.
tobamiester is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:05 AM
  #10266  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jhhack
Randy - whats the lowest turn motor in this car I can run safely you think on an RS? Have an RS on the shelf, and budget is a bit tight to pick up a pro right now.

I would not run an RS I this or any other 4wd buggy. Tekin even states that the RS Pro is recommended for 4wd buggy. Sell the RS and buy a used pro it might cost you $40 give or take. Cheaper than burning up the RS.
Walkman is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:17 AM
  #10267  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (56)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 56 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dexon555
Pulled directly from Tekin web site.
RS-Motor Limit Brushless Mode: 7.5 Turn, 540 2-pole (36mm)

Why would'nt you check here first?
http://www.teamtekin.com/rs.html
Dexon - I'm familiar with the info on the site and the manual. However, just because it 'can' run down to a 7.5 doesn't mean it's always a great idea to max it out an I've heard 4wd buggy is a beast when it comes to stress on electronics. This is why I asked in thread, for opinions from racers based on practical experience.

Originally Posted by tobamiester
I wouldn't run an RS with a low turn motor in this car as you'll likely have heat issues. I'd say 10.5 is the lowest you should go with an RS.
Originally Posted by Walkman
I would not run an RS I this or any other 4wd buggy. Tekin even states that the RS Pro is recommended for 4wd buggy. Sell the RS and buy a used pro it might cost you $40 give or take. Cheaper than burning up the RS.
tobamiester / walkman- that's pretty much what my gut was telling me, but i wanted to get some input from other guys that run tekin and this specific buggy. Better not to try to be cheap now, and end up costing double later... Hopefully by the time I get the new kit together, I'll find a good deal on a RS pro. I had a RS pro sitting for ever and traded it. That was prior to deciding to try this kit/class.

Thanks!
jhhack is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 08:27 AM
  #10268  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 286
Default

i ran a 8.5 with the rs in this car. no issues at all. added 2 cutouts for cooling and that was it. and if you actually read the packaging the rs will run down to a 5.5 in a 2wd car.
cm.stites is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 08:41 AM
  #10269  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
jboquire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tobamiester
I wouldn't run an RS with a low turn motor in this car as you'll likely have heat issues. I'd say 10.5 is the lowest you should go with an RS.
+1 on this comment, I run 10.5 Redline right now with an RS, no issues. I tried with an 8.5, gets hot after 4-5 min.

jb
jboquire is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:35 PM
  #10270  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
jackcarter3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Truckee, California
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

i am building up the v3 kit now and the carbon front shock tower doesnt fit into the 2 plastic pieces that mount to the chassis. is this a common thing to have to mod?
jackcarter3 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:43 PM
  #10271  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
jboquire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jackcarter3
i am building up the v3 kit now and the carbon front shock tower doesnt fit into the 2 plastic pieces that mount to the chassis. is this a common thing to have to mod?
Do you have a picture?, I just built mine last week and I didn't have any issues.

jb
jboquire is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:47 PM
  #10272  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
jackcarter3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Truckee, California
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jboquire
Do you have a picture?, I just built mine last week and I didn't have any issues.

jb
i can take a picture later. the plastic pieces i am talking about are the ones the four screws go into holding the shock tower onto them. they are notched for the tower to sit down into. the notches in mine arent even close to allowing the tower to sit flush.
jackcarter3 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:32 PM
  #10273  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,032
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Maybe you just swapped them? Was one of my mistakes on the rear of the car.
The front was ok, but the holes were a little wrong so I had to force it a little bit to fit the screws in them...
wtcc is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 04:44 PM
  #10274  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
jackcarter3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Truckee, California
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wtcc
Maybe you just swapped them? Was one of my mistakes on the rear of the car.
The front was ok, but the holes were a little wrong so I had to force it a little bit to fit the screws in them...
no, i had them right there just wasnt enough room to set the tower in so i shaved about a mm off and it went in snug. those are the thickest shock towers i have seen. i measured them at 4.6mm thick...... anyway, its coming together fine now.
jackcarter3 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:40 PM
  #10275  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
mnracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ramsey Minnesota
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I had the same issue with the front shock tower! I had to mod the front uprights slightly with a exacto....
mnracer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.