Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Originally Posted by SMcD
Do not buy the Durango...
Why not?
Old 12-19-2011, 07:52 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

You can find a hater or a FAN BOY for every ride out there... If that car fits your budget enjoy it. I have been racing one weekly on carpet for about a year. Its a great car...

Welcome to RCTECH
Old 12-19-2011, 07:58 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

Originally Posted by kart32
Why not?
I'll stand behind him. The words "I'm new to this" and Durango usually do not go well together. Just making an honest observation. Trust me, he's not a Durango hater either.
Old 12-19-2011, 08:09 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

YES, i also agree, the Durango is not the car for someone new to the hobby, it is a full blow race kit, that requires setup knowledge and a very aggressive driving. I have the 2010 spec and a cat sx3, the sx3 is easier to drive and be consistent with, I do put down faster laps with the dingo, but that is it faster lap and get marshalled. Awesome car if you drive aggressively and consistently.
Old 12-19-2011, 08:09 PM
Tech Elite

Sorry i just dont buy that. I been at this too long to suggest to someone starting out racing to not buy a pro level car to start out with.. The R packs a good load of value in it.

IF the guy came on here looking for advise on a redcat or exceed cars we rip him a new one suggesting they are crap (which they are) and suggest get a name brand car.. I sickens me how many times people show up on my site asking about redcrap type brands.... they waste there money and disappear from the hobby fast.

The R fits budget racers wallets well.

Of course if your local shop does not carry parts and no one at your track is racing them... I would consider another brand completely. Luckily at my track we have support for AE,Durango,Shcumacher and Tamiya so i typically would recomend a new racer pick one of those based on local support in my area.