Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread >

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Like Tree22Likes

Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Old 06-30-2014, 03:38 AM
  #16156  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

dex410 i built to race in stock class with short (5g weight on each side, 10g under the diff, and brass skid plate. Might put the 10g side weights back on.

Pretty much a v3 with smallbore shocks (might put big bores back on), titanium turn buckles, machined diff, plastic gears, d-joint drive shafts, tresrey steering/servo saver, 21" front caster, aluminium spur holder and all the needed option parts such as diff hoops etc

LiL_JaSoN is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 07:04 AM
  #16157  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
rcjunky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,202
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pittster
Hmm defective 5mm tower you say.

Seems the fine tune tower is not really available right now

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCCZV&P=7

Has anyone used atomic carbon towers?

Are they just as tuff ?
http://www.greathobbies.com/producti...d_id=TDR330375

There was one run of v3 kits that shipped with the 5mm front tower, needed some work to fit but you'll never break it, its the same thickness as the 1/8 towers.
rcjunky1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 10:23 AM
  #16158  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
jreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 159
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone here tried to fit the Turnigy nano-tech ultimate square pack in a v3?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...uare_Pack.html

Not roar approved so I'm sure that stops alot of you, but if it fits nicely it would offset the weight kit since it's 50 grams heavier than the saddles.
jreeves is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 10:56 AM
  #16159  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (131)
 
rc_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 3,568
Trader Rating: 131 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jreeves
Has anyone here tried to fit the Turnigy nano-tech ultimate square pack in a v3?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...uare_Pack.html

Not roar approved so I'm sure that stops alot of you, but if it fits nicely it would offset the weight kit since it's 50 grams heavier than the saddles.
I wondered when they would come out with something higher than 65C lol
Price wise they are good but my 5100's are around 3.85v/c after most runs already
rc_dude is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 11:07 AM
  #16160  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
jreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 159
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rc_dude
I wondered when they would come out with something higher than 65C lol
Price wise they are good but my 5100's are around 3.85v/c after most runs already
Well I ordered a couple anyway so I'll be the guinea pig
Assuming they'll fit, I'll have to see how run time is once they're broken in.
jreeves is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 11:10 AM
  #16161  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (131)
 
rc_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 3,568
Trader Rating: 131 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jreeves
Well I ordered a couple anyway so I'll be the guinea pig
Assuming they'll fit, I'll have to see how run time is once they're broken in.
haha sounds good. I'm disopointed in the 2C charge rate though
rc_dude is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 11:34 AM
  #16162  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (71)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 663
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Reedy square packs fit fine, so I'd guess these would. Square packs clean up the wiring nicely on this already cluttered car.
negatv1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 12:16 PM
  #16163  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
13Maschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Would like to hear more about the HobbyKing square pack when it's all broken in What charger do you use? I've had pretty good luck with my Turnigy's so far. I have a Junsi 308Duo and I also have some SMC short packs as well.
13Maschine is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 12:26 PM
  #16164  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
jreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 159
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm using an older Venom Pro charger, so I've only got 5 amps to work with for charging. It would be nice to charge at higher C, but for now I'll settle with 4 packs charged when we go to the track and have one on the charger at sub 1C. Trying to do all this on the cheap for club level racing. I imagine the serious racers among you have no use for the extra weight of these packs anyway.
I suspect the 2C rating on these may have to do with the number of cells in the 2s square pack vs the 2s3p saddle packs, but I'm just guessing.
jreeves is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 01:56 PM
  #16165  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (131)
 
rc_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 3,568
Trader Rating: 131 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jreeves
I'm using an older Venom Pro charger, so I've only got 5 amps to work with for charging. It would be nice to charge at higher C, but for now I'll settle with 4 packs charged when we go to the track and have one on the charger at sub 1C. Trying to do all this on the cheap for club level racing. I imagine the serious racers among you have no use for the extra weight of these packs anyway.
I suspect the 2C rating on these may have to do with the number of cells in the 2s square pack vs the 2s3p saddle packs, but I'm just guessing.
the 3p just increases the capacity, witch in turn increases the charge amps but not C rating since it's a function of capacity anyway. All the ultimate packs are 2C it seems, so I bet they just focused of highest discharge and largest capacity and disregarded the charge rates to an extent

I use an icharger 20A charger and a parallel charge plate, of course the 5100 saddles have a dang 10C charge rate...lol

And my good friend has a HobbyKing HKC6 and just this past weekend I found that, according to both of my chargers and my balencer, it was charging his cells to 4.19 and 4.24 volts...this has been going on for the past year with no problem, but that's sketchy...
rc_dude is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 02:15 PM
  #16166  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
13Maschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

@rc_dude: I noticed with my old bantam charger that I would sometimes get an unbalanced charge like this. I think this actually came from my balance cable being damaged, shorting out just a bit and providing a false reading. When you start getting into mV readings it's 100 times more sensitive so any change in wire or resistance can give a weird reading. I was able to verify this with my voltmeter, so perhaps double check your balance cable?
13Maschine is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 02:45 PM
  #16167  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (131)
 
rc_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 3,568
Trader Rating: 131 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 13Maschine
@rc_dude: I noticed with my old bantam charger that I would sometimes get an unbalanced charge like this. I think this actually came from my balance cable being damaged, shorting out just a bit and providing a false reading. When you start getting into mV readings it's 100 times more sensitive so any change in wire or resistance can give a weird reading. I was able to verify this with my voltmeter, so perhaps double check your balance cable?
Both my ichargers and my HiTec cell checker said the same thing for all 3 of the batteries he charged on his charger, so i'm pretty sure it's the charger. I told him to look up online how to calibrate it. and the resistance in the wire will only effect it with current flowing (yes to take a reading there must be a small amount of current flowing) but the balancer/cell checker can't drain much at all and the charger sitting a monitor or a .05A charger wouldn't be enough to make a difference unless only one or two strains were still holding together.
rc_dude is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 05:14 PM
  #16168  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Carlos69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Since I like to keep my leads in 24/7 .... I'd like to see a square lipo with offset balance lead or with terminals positioned on the longer side so the balance lead doesn't clash with the drive line ...
Carlos69 is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 05:28 PM
  #16169  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
13Maschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

@Carlos: you charge your battery in the car? and you lave the balance cables plugged in?
13Maschine is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 06:40 PM
  #16170  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Pittster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Newcastle NSW
Posts: 409
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 13Maschine
@Carlos: you charge your battery in the car? and you lave the balance cables plugged in?
I drilled a small hole in the middle of my battery strap in my 410 so when I run my shorty to charge it in the car I just remove the spur.

Getting the battery pin in over and over is a pain with a shorty nanotech battery
Pittster is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.